Parental Movers, A Getaway and Cuddle Casserole…

Wow, this is the longest I have gone without blogging! The last few days have just been…well…busy and a tad overwhelming. We carted some furniture down to our daughter’s new apartment at college and of course then moved it in. We took a couch and a large dining room table and purchased a box springs and mattress while we were there. Did I mention that her apartment is a second/third floor apartment? With the living room on the third floor? Needless to say, the sofa was the biggest obstacle and we had our doubts that it was going to make it through the tiny doorway. But a good ol’ push from hubby and another dad that was there and it went barreling through the doorway…into our daughter’s mouth. No blood, no swelling…good to go!

After we got her moved in and took her out to lunch (she plays that poor starving college student card well), hubby and I headed to Lancaster to have dinner, see a show and stay the night. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and decided that a short getaway was the best way to do so. We were right. Dinner was great and we had tickets to see “American Icons” at the American Music Theater. The show was dedicated to musical icons from the last several decades and was a great show! A little shopping the next day completed the weekend.

The only downfall to the last week or so is that I haven’t been feeling too great. I’ve also been playing phone tag with the doctor and getting the “we’ll send you to another department” treatment. Very frustrating.

Hubby and I were talking the other night and I told him I was in the mood to make soup given the fact that it was cold and rainy. (I actually broke out the fleece blanket on the couch!) I refer to this type of weather as cuddle weather, so hubby suggested I create a soup and we’ll call it cuddle soup. So yesterday, I set out to create said soup. It was coming along great…cream based, spinach, onion, ground chicken, garlic and vegetable bouillon. I wanted to add some shells (hubby’s ideas) to the mix. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize that I grabbed a box of large shells until they were already cooked and drained. I added them to the soup anyway and they soon soaked up the majority of the liquid. Huh. I didn’t want to make a huge pot, so adding more liquid was out. Into a casserole dish it went, topped with buttered cracker crumbs and baked for a bit. Presto! Cuddle Casserole! It was pretty good. I’ll have to give the soup another shot. In the fall. When it’s chilly. And I have small shells on hand.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Parental Movers, A Getaway and Cuddle Casserole…

  1. christine says:

    Looks delicious. I would love the recipe for cuddle casserole! 🙂

    • Recipe…hmmm…well, I didn’t really have a recipe, but here’s what I did. Cooked some ground chicken with a little olive oil, minced garlic and chopped onions. When cooked, coated them with flour and heated through. I then added a carton of chicken broth, a box of chopped spinach and about a quarter cup of milk. Cooked it over a slow boil until thickened and dumped in a handful of shredded cheddar cheese. Meanwhile, cooked half a box of large shells, drained them when cooked and then added to the “soup”. Cook on low for a few minutes until the shells absorb a lot of the liquid, transfer to a casserole dish, sprinkle with some parmesan cheese and crumbled crackers. Bake at 350 degrees until brown on top. Sorry I can’t be more precise, I was experimenting. 🙂

  2. I love the idea of anything cuddle

  3. Hope you are feeling better.

  4. It has been very cuddly weather here too in the evenings and mornings. I love it. Hope the soup helps and you are feeling better soon.

  5. Happy Anniversary! Lancaster, PA? I’m near Philly…

Leave a comment