Canning Lid Ornaments ~ Making Memories

As you know by now, I am not only thrifty but a huge advocate of the “Waste Not, Want Not” mentality. I also love to can my home grown foods. Over the years, I’ve saved my used canning lids and rings in the hopes of making something from them. For Autumn, I made a canning ring pumpkin, but that’s as far as I got. Until now.

I had come across something online where ornaments were made with tiny embroidery hoops. Well, I didn’t have any embroidery hoops, but I did have canning rings! So I improvised. And I’m so glad that I did!

I gathered everything that I thought I’d be able to use. Old jewelry, sweaters, wrapping paper, bits of burlap, twine, Christmas cards and anything else I could think of. Only other things I needed were scissors and a hot glue gun.

ornaments3

Turns out, it was one of the easiest projects I had ever done. I simply cut out fabric, paper, cards, etc to fit onto the canning lid. I tied whatever material I was going to use to hang the ornament onto the ring. I then inserted the lid and covering material into the canning ring. A few dabs of hot glue on the back secured the lid onto the ring. I then adorned it with any other objects I thought would look nice. Mostly, I used pieces from old costume jewelry. And presto! New Christmas ornaments, made with old memories. This is the first one, made from sweater material:

ornaments2

Not bad, huh? After the first one turned out well, I forged ahead with more. I made some with burlap coverings that were adorned with old clip earrings, wrapping paper with twirly ribbon, Christmas fabric with buttons and each one started to take on it’s own personality. I absolutely loved that!

I came across some vintage post cards that my mother had given to me several years ago. I then made an ornament just for her. I used two old bracelets (one as the hanging loop and one framing the ring) and a few baubles from another bracelet. I think it turned out great and can’t wait to make more like it!

ornaments

So now you know something you can do with all of those old canning rings and lids. You can preserve memories! Living frugally can be so very beautiful. Waste nothing.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canning Lid Ornaments ~ Making Memories

  1. Kimberly Bridy says:

    What a great idea!!!! I think my students could do this next year!

    Kimberly Bridy White Deer Elementary First Grade 570-568-6201

    >

    • So glad you found something useful! I had so much fun that my plan is to make them all year long, with memory~filled items from events throughout the year. Then come Christmas of 2015, it will be a true memory tree! 🙂

Leave a Reply

