The $2.75 “Semi-Homemade Go~To” Gift ~ Any Time of the Year (No Cook/Bake)

We all have those hard to buy for people on our lists at Christmas. Neighbors, co-workers, service workers, etc. But this also applies year-round. How about a small thank you gift? Or how about just because you like the person?

Let’s face it. Time is of the essence in most of our lives. Yes, we’d love to make all of our gifts by hand, roll out the baked goods like we were Betty Crocker herself and even wrap our gifts in ribbon that was hand woven by us in our spare time. Uh…not gonna happen! So instead…how about a gift that is easy, quick, will be enjoyed by all and most of all…gives an air of “homemade”.

buttergift

All you need to do is head to your nearest Dollar Tree, grab a pound cake and a pack of small plastic food storage containers (really small ones). Now, bring a stick of butter (the real stuff please!) to room temp. Divide the butter in half and make two small batches of flavored butter, using whatever you have on hand. Grab one of those Christmas tins that we all have stashed away. Now line it with tissue paper and a white paper towel. Slice the pound cake, lay it neatly in the tin and place the butter inside in two of those small plastic containers that you just snagged at the Dollar Tree. (make sure the flavors are labeled somewhere on them) Place the lid on the tin and Presto!!! A beautiful, yummy semi-homemade gift!

Don’t like the idea of pound cake? Dollar Tree also has bagels. Individually wrap the bagels (or muffins) in plastic wrap, place your yumminess in a basket or larger tin and you have a great alternative.

buttergift3

The butters that I made were honey/cinnamon and a cranberry/almond/citrus combo. You can find tons of recipes online, but you can also just toss in what you have. The honey/ cinnamon is pretty self explanatory. Squirt some honey into the butter, sprinkle some cinnamon and mix well. So very delicious! For the cranberry combo, I used dried cranberries, clementine juice and zest and when I saw that I didn’t have any almonds…I grabbed one of my favorite snacks and chopped up two of the snack squares. Improvise!

buttergift2

Here’s the cost breakdown of my gift:

  • Pound cake $1.00
  • Butter $.50
  • Fixin’s (a few cranberries, two pecan squares, a squirt of honey, etc) $.50
  • Plastic containers $.50 (A pack of 4 was $1.00)
  • Christmas tin ~ free (salvaged from a gift from my mother 2 years ago) BUT…thrift stores are full of them right now for as little as $.25 if you don’t have one.

This tin is going to my doctor’s office with me tomorrow. I’m giving it to the staff because they are all super-awesome! So now you know how to give a terrific semi-homemade gift in record time, very frugally and that your recipient will totally love. Hope this helps!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

