You Can Give That Lettuce CPR!

As I was reading a post from lightlycrunchy today (BTW, check out her recipe for Cajun Spiced Walnuts…they look yummy!), she shared a tip on keeping lettuce that is very similar to how I preserve my greens. I decided to share with you a great way to not only keep lettuce and other greens fresh, but to perk them up a bit too. So you can now buy lettuce that is close to its “use by” date and still get plenty of meals out of it!

Here’s a big tub of organic mixed greens that I purchased today. As you can see, it was marked down to $.99 (regularly $4.99). Most people pass this up as soon as they see the “use by” date is the next day. Not me! Here’s what I do:

First go through the lettuce to see if there are any pieces that looks a little sad and wilty. Remove them from the bunch of happy campers. Put the happy greens (you see, they’re happy that you chose them and they didn’t go to the compost pile!) into a colander and rinse with COLD water. It doesn’t matter if they’ve been pre-washed or not, the cold water is essential in making them crisp back up.

Take the wet greens (give them a few shakes to remove excess water) and lay them onto a tea towel. A single layer is preferred, but it doesn’t have to be totally exact. If they’re piled up too many, they will get soggy and decay quicker.

Once they’re laid out, roll up the tea towel, tucking the greens in as you go. Repeat with as many tea towels as you need.

Now that the happy greens are all nestled in cozy, slide the tea towels into a large zippy bag. Don’t seal the bag all the way. If you do, moisture will build up inside the bag and the happy greens won’t be happy at all.

Tuck the zippy inside your refrigerator and now both you AND the greens are happy because you’ve just extended the life of your greens by 5 to 7 days. I’ll be eating salad all week for $.99! Yeah, I’m happy. And I’m pretty sure I can hear the greens singing “Happy Together” from inside their little crisper drawer.   🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Grocery Savings, Household Tips, Money Saving Ideas, Other Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You Can Give That Lettuce CPR!

  1. That’s a really neat tip, and something I intend to take advantage of. Thank you for sharing it!

  2. Thanks for the shout out!

  3. Angell says:

    Great ideas!!! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Dudette says:

    What a cool idea, had no idea you can do this!

  5. Little Sis says:

    Awesome tip. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

