Homemade “Doritos”

doritos2

I don’t know about you, but my major cravings when it comes to food always fall in the “cheesy, salty, crunchy” category. But, now that I have turned to a gluten and dairy free diet, that is almost always out of the question. I also have to eat as clean as possible. Doritos (nacho cheese flavor) used to be an all-time favorite snack. I’d lay them on a cookie sheet, put a slice of cheddar on each one and broil until that cheese was bubbling to perfection. But…I digress. Doritos. What a wonderful concept. A perfect food…that is, if they didn’t have MSG, Disodium Dinosinate, Maltodextrin or any other ingredients that I need a PhD in chemistry to understand.

Well, I craved…and craved my Doritos. And then I found a recipe that sounded too perfect. A mock Dorito if you will. What?? Something that may taste like my beloved Doritos without the cheese flakes and the chemistry? Gimme! I took the recipe and then tweaked it to fit my taste buds.

So I gave it a shot. And lo and behold…they are fabulous! Now granted, they don’t taste exactly like a Dorito. How could they? But they are a wonderfully flavorful bite of goodness that helps eliminate my cheesy/salty/crunchy craving in one bite.

They are very simple to make. Here’s how:

First, mix up your seasoning ~

  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder

First, give the nutritional yeast a whir in the a coffee/spice grinder to make it into more of a powder so all of your ingredients are the same consistency. I mix then mix this up and put it into a shaker container. (Makes it easier to distribute onto the chips evenly). You can use an old parmesan cheese shaker if you don’t have one.

Heat up about an inch of vegetable oil in a large skillet. I use my fave cast iron pan. While the oil is heating, cut small corn tortillas into wedges using a pizza cutter. When your oil is hot, fry as many wedges as will fit into the pan without touching each other. Fry until golden brown, turning once. Place immediately onto a paper towel and shake with seasoning mixture, adding sea salt if you’d like. (I recommend it) Turn the chips over and do the same to season that side as well.

doritos

It’s important that you season the chips immediately. The oil will help the seasoning stick to the chip.

Continue to fry and season until you have your desired amount, transferring seasoned chips to an airtight container as you work. That way, you can seal them up if you don’t eat them right away. (Just don’t seal if the chips are still warm, this will produce moisture inside of your container and you’ll have soggy chips).

That’s it! The nutritional yeast provides a cheesy flavor, the chili powder gives it a little kick and the rest of the seasonings add a great depth. I’ll also be experimenting with other seasonings and let you know how I make out.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade “Doritos”

  1. Melissa says:

    what is nutritional yeast? is there any soy protein in this product? we are gluten, casein, and soy free, so that is why I am wondering. where will one find this product in the store? thank you in advance for your reply!

    • Nutritional yeast is actually derived from molasses. It grows on the molasses, is harvested and then dried. It is gluten, casein and soy free, however with some products you do have to watch for cross contamination. I recommend Bob’s Red Mill nutritional yeast, and you may want to read up on their products. They will answer any questions you may have about cross contamination. I buy most of my products from Amazon and/or other online sources as I live in a very rural area. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

