Two Ingredient Cake

Yes, you heard right! You can make a cake with two ingredients. The best part? You can substitute either or both of the ingredients! All you need is a box of cake mix and a can of fruit. Seriously. Let’s break this down using the original “recipe”.

  • 1 box (18 oz) yellow cake mix
  • 1 can (20 oz) crushed pineapple

As you can see, I’ve already deviated from the recipe. I only had pineapple slices on hand due to the fact that I didn’t want to walk downstairs to the pantry. 🙂 Not a problem when you have a stick blender!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look! Crushed pineapple! Now mix the two ingredients together. No need to beat them up, just mix together until they’re incorporated:

You can make cupcakes, a bundt cake, a regular cake…it doesn’t matter. Simply bake the mix as per the directions on the cake mix box. Now this is the most important step: Lick the spatula. Not kidding. It is oh-so good!

Test your cake and remove from the oven when a toothpick comes out clean. Side note: Don’t you just love my little cake tester? I got it at the Kutztown Heritage Fair last year and I love it. Too bad I only bake about twice a year, but let’s face it…this one doesn’t count as “baking”.

Isn’t that cake gorgeous? And it will be so very moist too. I highly suggest heating some fresh (or frozen) berries just until they start to render juices and then pouring them right over a hunk of this awesomeness. Another side note: Do you have any idea how hard it is to stencil powdered sugar onto a bundt cake? Sheesh!

Here’s the fun part. You can use any canned fruit you want. You can use any cake mix you want. I’ve done white cake mix with fruit cocktail, yellow cake with peaches (and pineapple of course) but the best…spice cake with canned pumpkin. Save that one for Autumn and your house is going to smell so good!

The nutritional facts aren’t terrible either. If you cut your cake into 12 pieces (or make 12 cupcakes) it is as follows:

  • 207 calories
  • 5 grams of fat (7%)
  • < 1 gram saturated fat (3%)
  • 280 mg sodium (11%)
  • 39 grams carbohydrates (13%)
  • 1 gram fiber (4%)
  • this is the only bad one: 23 grams of sugar (92%) but isn’t that what dessert is for?

So there you have it. Anyone can bake. Even me. And you. And a 5 year old. And my dog. Really, isn’t it THAT simple?

This cake is partying over at “Uncommon Creating the Extraordinary” and  “Some Good Times” with other fun crafts and recipes. Make sure to check them out!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas, Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two Ingredient Cake

  1. I’m gonna try it (especially since I have openly admitted to using mixes). Looks delicious. And I had to take a closer look at that cake tester – I might have to get the husband to make me something similar. It would make a neat gift, if I gave it with one of your finished cakes. You have great ideas!

    • If we didn’t all have some sort of shortcuts, we wouldn’t leave the house. 🙂 I bake so little that cake mixes are a good standby for me. The cake tester would make an awesome gift for sure in one of your great baskets! Let me know how you make out with the cake!

  2. changeinview says:

    Gotta try that….or have my wife try it atleast 🙂

  3. Seriously!!!! You had me at two ingredients! Will have to try this one for sure! Thanks so much for linking up to our Uncommonly Yours link party! We hope you will join us again this week!

    Take care,

    Trish

Leave a comment