Green Tomato Soup

I recently discovered this recipe for Green Tomato Soup and made it for the first time yesterday with some of the multitude of green tomatoes we have in the garden. The verdict is in…it’s a hit! It is very flavorful and full of yumminess. I originally found the recipe at food.com, but have tweaked it just a tad. I’ll share my version with you:

Green Tomato Soup

  • 8 slices bacon, roughly chopped
  • 1 large onion, diced small
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 whole bay leaf
  • 5 cups chopped unripe green tomatoes
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup milk or cream
  1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium high heat.
  2. Add bacon and cook until browning. (not all the way browned)
  3. Add onion, garlic and bay leaf and cook until tender.
  4. Add salt, pepper and tomatoes and stir well, then add broth and water.
  5. Bring to a boil, lower heat to simmer and cook for one hour (with pot partially covered).
  6. Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.
  7. Stir in milk or cream.
  8. Puree soup with a stick blender or process in food processor until smooth.

The original recipe called for more water than broth and scallions instead of onion. I found that I wasn’t fond of the chunkiness of the soup, so I pureed it at the end. The original recipe also recommended cooking for 35 minutes. I didn’t feel as if it was enough cooking time, as my tomatoes were still quite crunchy. So I left it on the stove until they were nice and mushy. (probably over and hour, but you can decide when yours is perfect). I had cooked the rest of the bacon in the pack, crumbled it and used it as a topping for the soup.

Pretty darn fabulous I must say! Rumor has it that the soup freezes well too, so I see another batch in the near future. I’m so excited that I found another thing to do with all of those unripe tomatoes!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Green Tomato Soup

  1. gorgeous and tasty – particularly with the bacon!

  2. Rose says:

    Ooo. I might have to try this. The remaining tomatoes are going to need to come off the vine now that the temp is dropping so much at night.

  3. Pingback: I Can’t Believe That I Am STILL Processing Tomatoes! | Fine Frugality

  4. Mezzy says:

    going to give it a try. Just brought in a large quality of green tomatoes

Leave a comment