Waste Nothing of That Garden Goodness

After we returned from vacation on Saturday, we spent the day at the farm on Sunday to play catch up. The fall crops are doing well and there was minimal harvesting necessary.

The carrot bed was out of control. I can’t believe how quickly they grew in the last two weeks. So I set out with the task of thinning out the carrots. I pulled the smaller ones out (so as not to crowd each other) and kept them to go with our lunch. They were only an inch or two long, but they were true baby carrots. So very sweet! You do know that the “baby carrots” you buy in the grocery store are just mature carrots shaped into smaller pieces, right? I consider that the ultimate false advertising!

If I have any large zucchini, I also like to keep the seeds and roast them. You can roast any squash seeds and they are delicious! Simply scoop them out of the squash, rinse well and pat dry. Place on a baking sheet and drizzle a very small amount of olive oil on them. Mix to coat. Sprinkle sea salt on top (or any other flavor you may want) and toast in a warm oven (200 – 250 degrees) until they are crispy and turn a golden brown.

 

 

 

 

 

I also cleared the garden of the remaining tomatoes…red and green. I have a ton of green tomatoes, so will be making quite a few different recipes. Some I will slice and can so we are able to enjoy fried green tomatoes in the winter months, some I will make into relish and I have a pot of green tomato soup on the stove at this moment. It’s the first time I’m using this recipe, so I won’t post it yet, but if it comes out as good as I think it will…recipe to follow!

And don’t forget, with all of those garden bits and pieces you can always make some veggie bouillon. Here’s how.

So even though it’s time to clear a lot of the garden away for the cooler months, don’t waste a morsel of that goodness!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waste Nothing of That Garden Goodness

  1. Little Sis says:

    Looking forward to the green tomato soup!!

  2. I am SO done with tomatoes – otherwise, green tomato soup sounds quite intriguing. Don’t think I can bring myself to look at another garden tomato for a while, though. I envy you the carrots – ours didnt germinate this year and we never got around to reseeding for a later crop.

Leave a Reply

