Fall Foods

I simply adore autumn. Everything about it. The colors, the smells and of course the foods! I thought I’d share some some of my favorite autumn frugal recipe ideas to get you started on some fall cooking…

One of my favorite, simple dishes to make in the autumn is baked sweet potatoes. Of course they can be topped with butter and brown sugar, but another great serving idea is to smear them with your favorite chili. Add a dollop of sour cream and you’ve got yourself a meal!

Another earthy dish to serve in autumn is Ham Stuffed Apples. Scooping out the flesh of the apples is a little time consuming but the rest is a breeze…and what an impressive dish to serve to guests!

 

Ham Stuffed Apples

  • 6 large red apples, unpeeled
  • 8 ounces cooked ham, cubed small
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup raisins (brown or golden)
  • 1/3 cup pecans, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup apple juice (may need up to 1 cup)
  1. Cut the top off the apples and scoop out the core with some of the fruit, but be sure to leave a thick shell to hold the stuffing.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Put approximately 1 cup of the removed apple fruit in a mixing bowl and combine it with the ham, butter, raisins, pecans and brown sugar; mixing the ingredients well.
  4. Spoon this mixture into the cored apples and place them in a baking dish.
  5. Pour the juice over the apples and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, basting occasionally with the juice.

The last of my favorite fall foods is pumpkin pie dip. Oh my is it yummy! I’ll be making it for the picnic this weekend. It’s quite simple too…

Pumpkin Pie Dip

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin pie filling (pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon ground ginger
  1. Beat cream cheese and sugar at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth.
  2. Add pie filling, cinnamon, and ginger, beating well.
  3. Cover and chill 8 hours.
  4. Serve with gingersnaps, vanilla wafers or apple slices.
  5. I have also served it with homemade tortilla shapes that I had brushed with water and food coloring then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar (pictured).

If you decide to give one of these fall foods a try, please let me know how you like it! Happy Autumn everyone!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall Foods

  1. Both the sweet potatoes and the apples look soo tempting!
    And while it Spring here in Buenos Aires, these fall foods look like they could fit my table perfectly well!

    thanks for sharing!

    felicia
    http://dishbydish.net

  2. Little Sis says:

    Beautiful sweet potatoes. Really captures the joy of fall food!

  3. Stacey Derck says:

    Can’t wait to try the Pumpkin Pie Dip — what do you serve it with (dip it?

Leave a Reply

