Listen To Your Angels’ Voices

This is not a post to start a debate or even a discussion about religion, beliefs, spirits, psychic phenomenon or life after death. It is simply me sharing my opinion and a recent experience in my life. So please, take it as such.

Last week my husband and I traveled to Rehoboth Beach, Delaware for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday and to relax for a few days. It was a much needed getaway and we enjoyed every minute. On our first full day there, we lingered in a local coffee shop filling our bellies with freshly baked decadence. I struck up a conversation with our server, who was able to give us directions to all of the best thrift stores in the area. Now that’s MY idea of a vacation!

So off we went…hunting for treasures and taking in the sights. Several times during that morning I got these strong feelings of my sister-in-law Bonnie. We had just lost Bonnie on Christmas to breast cancer and the pain is still fresh. I told myself that I was thinking of Bonnie because we were in a beach town. She had most recently resided in Myrtle Beach. When I’d get another gut sensation, I’d tell myself that I was just seeing things that reminded me of her. These feelings were very strong and would come at the oddest times, when I wasn’t really thinking of anything else, like when I was driving or strolling through a cookware aisle in a thrift shop. I told my husband after the first strong experience and the feeling was so strong that I honestly expected to turn the corner and see her. But of course I didn’t.

We then headed to Cape Henlopen State Park, one of our favorite places to visit when we’re in the area. It was off season, with a cool ocean breeze and the beach was practically deserted.

DSC_0043

 

As we approached the path to get onto the beach, I started to tear up, again thinking about Bonnie. I told my husband that I can’t get her out of my mind and kept envisioning her walking on the beach collecting shells and searching for sea glass. She loved sea glass. Her eyes were always scanning for the shimmer that would lead her to a small piece of sand-smoothed treasure. He squeezed my hand and said “Well, maybe she’ll send us a sign that she’s with us”.

As we walked onto the beach, I stood still and snapped photos as my husband starting sifting through the line of shells that the tide had left as it receded earlier. He was like his sister in that respect as they both were always amazed by the beauty of nature.

DSC_0046And it took all of about 60 seconds for my husband to find his very first piece of sea glass. A lovely, smooth green trinket deposited on the beaches of Cape Henlopen after it’s journey in the depths of the ocean. He held it up for me to see as we both realized that Bonnie had indeed been with us that morning after all. And the shape of the sea glass just cemented it for us.

DSC_0047So you see, it is my belief that one of our beautiful angels had been traveling with us that morning. It is also my opinion that we are constantly given signs from departed loved ones, of different types of energies in our environment and yes, even a hint of premonitions. Those gut feelings, those nagging thoughts or even those fleeting visions. I believe that they are messages for us. It’s just up to us to figure out what they mean or what they’re leading us to.

My messages from Bonnie lead us to a keepsake and the knowledge that she is still with us. It gave us comfort and provoked memories of a wonderful woman. What will yours lead you to?

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Listen To Your Angels’ Voices

  1. Stacey says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your sister-in-law

  2. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story of your sister in law. I also believe our loved ones are all around us. I lost my sister many years ago, but I still see her everywhere I go. BTW, your photography is absolutely beautiful.

    • Thank you so much! We sure do miss her, but know that she is with us always. My condolences on the loss of your sister, but I am so very glad that you know she is there beside you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

