Canning Homemade Beef Broth

I don’t know about you, but I just love it when I can make something that is cost efficient, tastes better that anything you can buy and makes your kitchen smell divine! Yesterday I found a beef soup bone on clearance for $1.04. Needless to say, I grabbed it, brought it home and plopped it directly into my crockpot along with 2 onions (skins on), some fresh parsley and a tad bit of sea salt. It stayed there overnight and when I came down this morning, my kitchen smelled awesome!

I then strained the broth, brought it to a boil and ladled it into 7 pint jars that had already been sterilized. I put the jars into my prepared pressure canner and processed at 11 PSI for 20 minutes. And this is what I got…dark, lovely homemade beef broth. After everything was said an done, I’ll bet it didn’t cost 2 bucks. And it will be waaaayyy better than store bought!

beefbroth

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Canning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Canning Homemade Beef Broth

  1. Stacey says:

    I have NEVER purchased just a bone like that. Where do you find them??

  2. Found this one at Weis…if you don’t see one, ask the butcher. They usually have them. 🙂

  3. I make my own chicken broth but want to try veggie and beef. A friend gave me chicken feet and necks to make my next batch. It will be weird seeing feet!

Leave a Reply

