Peasant Bread ~ Easiest Bread Ever

bread2

I have finally found a no-knead bread that is quick, easy and doesn’t affect my flour phobia. Yes, I despise touching flour. Don’t ask. I don’t know. I think it’s a tactile thing. But it gives some real heebie jeebies! Anyway…

As I was spending some time in Pinterestland I came across a bread recipe that not only didn’t require me to touch flour, but it also didn’t require kneading the dough, waiting 12 hours until you can bake it or even a loaf pan! MY kind of bread recipe! I first saw it here at Alexandria Cooks. She gave such detailed instructions that even I could follow. So I had a go at it. And bang! Success!

It’s quite simple really. Here’s how to make this delicious, hearty, buttery bread:

Peasant Bread

  • 4 cups (510 g | 1 lb. 2 oz) all-purpose flour* (do not use bleached all-purpose)
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 cups lukewarm water
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons active-dry yeast
  • room temperature butter, about 2 tablespoons
  1. Mixing the dough:
    • If you are using active-dry yeast: In a small mixing bowl, dissolve the sugar into the water. Sprinkle the yeast over top. Let it stand for about 10 to 15 minutes or until the mixture is foamy and/or bubbling just a bit — this step will ensure that the yeast is active. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the flour and salt. When the yeast-water-sugar mixture is foamy, stir it up, and add it to the flour bowl. Mix until the flour is absorbed.• If you are using instant yeast: In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, sugar, and instant yeast. Add the water. Mix until the flour is absorbed.

2.  Cover bowl with a tea towel or plastic wrap and set aside in a warm spot to rise for at least an hour. (If you have the time to let it rise for 1.5 to 2 hours, do so — this will help the second rise go more quickly.)

3.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Generously butter the inside of two medium oven-safe bowls (such as Pyrex bowls). Using two forks, punch down your dough, scraping it from the sides of the bowl and turning it onto itself. Divide the dough into two sections and put each half into one of your buttered bowls. (I use a large metal spoon for this part as the dough is quite slippery). Let the dough rise for another 20 – 30 minutes.

4.  Bake for 15 minutes. Reduce the heat to 375º and bake for 15 to 17 minutes longer. Remove from the oven and turn the loaves onto cooling racks. If you’ve greased the bowls well, the loaves should fall right out onto the cooling racks. Your bread should be golden brown. If not, pop back into the oven (on the cooling racks) for another 5 minutes.

bread3

5. Enjoy! And there is no doubt in my mind that you will!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Peasant Bread ~ Easiest Bread Ever

  1. Thanks, I like an easy recipe! My breadmaker is working hard right now so I’m lucky. Flour phobia – I can understand as there is nothing else that feels like it. Well done for finding a tasty solution!

    • I wanted and wanted a bread maker so badly and after I got one, I hardly ever used it. It still sits in storage. We have moved to an old farm house with limited space and just don’t have room for it anymore. It will be put on the yard sale list for after the weather breaks. Luckily I found this recipe or we may never have fresh baked bread! 🙂

      • Isn’t that the fate of most non-essential kitchen gadgets?!! Mine was passed around to two family members before getting to me UNUSED! I’m in the habit now so it is normal. I know what you mean about them taking up space though:-)

      • Moving to this farmhouse (with ONE closet) has certainly made me look and look again at what is essential. We plan on renovating within the next two years, after we sell our house in town, but until then I just have to keep crawling over things. It makes me insane! I can’t wait to have kitchen space again!

      • I hope your town house sells soon so you can invest in the farmhouse. Sounds like a good move and a different lifestyle. Use that lone closet wisely!!

  2. This looks like the kind of bread recipe that even I could manage. Thanks for sharing! I used to have a bread maker and I used mine all the time. Love the smell of bread cooking, but didn’t always have the time to make it so the bread maker was perfect. But sadly, after years of use, it quit working. You’ve inspired me to try and make some bread again. The men in my family will thank you! 🙂

    • So glad you found something you can use. Let me know how it works out for you! My hubby loves it and is asking for a raisin bread, so I’m on the hunt for a no-knead raisin bread now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

