Nature’s Beauty

There are those times that good ol’ Mother Nature stops you in your tracks with her beauty. Well, she smacked me hard with some over-the-top artistry on Friday.

As I was driving towards my daughter’s college town for a visit, I drove past this amazing bush that was completely covered in ice. It was the only one, standing alone by the side of the road.  I saw it as I approached a turn in the road and due to the narrowness of the road, was unable to stop to take a closer look. Mental note made.

On the way back, I kept assessing possible pull-off points as I was approaching the area of the bush. I ended up having to pull onto a side road and walk a little ways to get to the this wondrous beauty. So there I was, camera in hand, standing along a narrow, busy road staring at this amazing display. I was truly obsessed with it.

I noticed that each branch was covered in 1 to 2 inches of ice. Some branches had additional icicles that dripped delicately from them, while others jutted their own sparkling frozen points towards the sky. At first, I couldn’t figure out why this bush, and only this bush, was lucky enough to be bestowed with such elegance. So I stood there until I figured it out. It appears as if there is an area below the bush where a puddle forms from run-off of the nearby mountain. The puddle reaches onto the road. So when the puddle is large enough and a car goes by, it splashes the bush. With our temperatures being as cold as they have been, the ice hasn’t had a chance to melt and it just keeps accumulating. Huh!

I absolutely loved relishing in this nature-made sculpture (with a little help from man-made vehicles). I finally retreated back to my car when I realized that I was causing some drivers to panic a tad when they drove around the corner to find my butt in the road as I bent over trying to take the perfect picture. This was confirmed when an older gentleman stopped his car in the middle of the road to instruct “Get your damn self off of the road”. I reluctantly obliged, but not until I responded “But my damn self is just enjoying something beautiful”. I don’t think he was nearly as impressed by the ice bush as I was.

ice

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nature’s Beauty

  1. That is definitely worth stopping for! How amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

