I’m Cooking Again! Yay!

Well, the crutches came off on Thursday and I’m finally getting to the point that I can stand in the kitchen long enough to make some decent meals. I am so very excited! It’s been almost two months and I was getting rather cranky if I must say so myself. So today I made Meatloaf with Homemade Onion Straws. YUM! It was absolutely delicious. This recipe is easy and uses up items in the pantry. Here goes:

meatloaf

Meatloaf with Homemade Onion Straws:

In the morning (at least 5 hours before cook time, or even the night before), slice 1 large onion very thinly. Spread the slices out on food dehydrator trays and run dehydrator until slices are dry and crisp. If you don’t have a dehydrator, this step can be done in the oven. Spread slices on baking sheets (no oil) and put in a low oven (150 to 200 degrees) until dry and crispy. Please note that if using the oven, it will take longer than in the dehydrator and you should plan accordingly. They can be kept in an airtight container for several days before consumption.

For the meatloaf, mix the following ingredients together in a large bowl:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef or turkey (or a combination of both)
  • 1 box of stuffing mix (like Stovetop)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 egg

When the ingredients are combined, press into a loaf pan and cook at 350 degrees for 45 to 55 minutes. During the last 15 minutes of cooking, you can add the sauce of your choice to the top of the meatloaf. (optional) Here’s the one that I used:

  • 1 can (6 oz) tomato sauce
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp steak sauce

As you can see, there are very few ingredients, most of which you may already have on hand. Let the meatloaf cool for approximately 10 minutes before slicing. Top each slice with a handful of onion straws. Totally brings your average meatloaf to a higher level with very little extra effort.

Side note: I’ve posted pictures of my daughter’s new bunny previously, but this one just cracks me up. We do believe that at some point during her bunny shenanigans, she broke her right ear. She is now lopsided. I think it adds a ton of character. 🙂

Maddie

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

