Favorite Christmas Gifts

I really enjoyed my Christmas this year. It was much more simple than in past years and I was able to spend it with some very special family members. As I was going through my gifts to put away, there were some that stood out as special. The first is a ring that my husband gave to me. It has become a tradition that he guys me a ring every year and it’s really a lot of fun to wait and see what kind I’m going to get. This is the one that I received this year:

ring

Beautiful, isn’t it? And he picks them out all by himself. Not bad I say! Another gift isn’t pictured, and I received it before Christmas, but it was very thoughtful. As my daughter was cleaning our guest room in preparation for the arrival of family, she left the house and came back with a brand new comforter set for the bed as a surprise. It was very much appreciated! Santa brought me some photography books and my niece sent me a CD of a musical group, of which she is a member. A good friend of ours gave me some Hickory Farms cheese because well…I’m a cheesoholic. True. I also received a great tote bag that was handmade in Indonesia, recycling fabric softener pouches. The proceeds go to the less fortunate families in that country.

gifts

I like gifts that “keep giving” like the tote bag. My aunt sent me some handmade washcloths that were sewn by a very elderly lady in her community that makes items for extra income. I was able to give some gifts that benefited breast cancer research, which is important to me. And there were a few other handmade or local gifts that were exchanged.

You can see why it was a great Christmas, right? Isn’t that what the season is all about? Giving. I’m so glad that some of our gifts were able to do just that. Those were my favorites, how about you?

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gift Ideas, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Favorite Christmas Gifts

  1. christine says:

    I think I need to create the tradition of jewelry every year–sounds good to me!

  2. Cathy says:

    I plan on getting a embrodery machine and making things for the family this Christmas

    • I would love to learn embroidery! Sewing/knitting/crochet/embroidery are all in the craft arena that is foreign to me. 😦 Sounds like you’ll be making some great gifts! I did canvas art and homemade jewelry this year, along with hand stamped note cards. They seemed to go over well.

Leave a Reply

