I Am Proof That Stockpiling Makes Sense

As I’ve said before, I am not an extreme stockpiler by any means, but I do have a very well stocked pantry. One with a reasonable stockpile. About a month ago, I was injured resulting in the need for crutches. There are not a lot of things that can be done while on crutches, including grocery shopping. Now, I have to admit, my husband made a wonderful attempt at grocery shopping during the first week that I was laid up. I gave him a list of 7 items. He came back with four bags full of “food”. You know, the essentials like peanut butter cups, ice cream and 6 packs of English Muffins. So you won’t have to ask why I start Weight Watchers in a few weeks, right?

Anyway…since hubby has been banned from the grocery store and I can’t get there, we’ve been eating out of the pantry. And we’ve been eating well. My pantry is very diverse and filled with canned veggies, whole grains, fruits, rices and many more items. I also have my canning pantry that has all of the goodies from last year’s garden.

pantry1

 

I never thought I’d be stockpiling in case I couldn’t walk, but thank goodness I did! I always thought I’d need my stockpile for a power outage, a job loss or for other financial reasons. But it goes to show you…if you prepare for an emergency in general…you’ll be ready for ANY emergency. Now I can’t wait to get on my feet and work on restocking! Our coupon swap will be starting up next week…just in time!

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Am Proof That Stockpiling Makes Sense

  1. christine says:

    Your husband and my husband must share a grocery-shopping gene. Even with a list, those Oreos and Koolaid somehow find their way home to me. I’m so jealous of your pantry–someday I will have one of my own!

    • hahahaha! Don’t you love it? He spent more on that one trip that I would for 3 weeks! I have to admit that I was just glad that he did it. Thanks of the pantry. It really gives me a sense of security every time I open the door. It really is the simple things, huh? 🙂

  2. df says:

    Hope you are on the mend! A well stock pantry is a fine thing indeed!

Leave a Reply

