Not a Sign of Things To Come?

As my husband and I were sitting on the couch last night, I turned and said to him “how can you not be cold?” as I sat there in my two pairs of socks, wrapped in the softest fleece blanket ever made. My nose was turning red and my fingers were cramping up from the chill in the house. He got up to take a look at the thermostat that although was set at 72 degrees, read 64 degrees. “Uh oh” was his response.

After he inspected the furnace in depth, he reported that he was able to temporarily fix it until someone could take a look at it tomorrow. We thought a wire or two may have had a bad connection. Wrong. All of the controls needed to be replaced. $283 later the furnace should be working without concern. The heat-fixer-dude said “I was surprised how much this was, they’re usually around 100 bucks, but yours was twice that amount”. Of course it was.

DSC_1032

But, we have heat. Good thing, given the fact that the low is going to be around 14 chilly degrees tonight! I thought it was only fitting to use the bill for today’s photo. When I review this year in pictures, I’ll be able to look at it as the first small hurdle of the year. I am thankful that we were able to pay the bill, that we have heat, that the technician was able to fix it today and that we were here to catch the problem before it got too cold in the house. Focusing on the positive. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not a Sign of Things To Come?

  1. Just another great reason to have an emergency savings fund or a home maintenance budget both of which we have for these types of situations. Good to hear it’s fixed! Mr.CBB

    • Exactly!! And my grandmother was so very smart with her “envelope” method. hahahaha This year, we are also putting away every five dollar bill that we get. Easy way to build another emergency fund. 🙂

      • It’s amazing how we can challenge ourselves that way. Keep me in the loop as I want to know how you are doing! Cheers and come say hi on Facebook… let me know who you are! Mr.CBB

Leave a Reply

