Infused Vodkas ~ Great “Standby” Gift!

You know those times that you need an unexpected gift? Like for instance, you’re invited to a Christmas party but don’t know your host all that well. Infused vodkas can save the day. They are the easiest things in the world to make and will impress anyone of your recipients.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Choose a medium grade vodka or higher. This will assure a great tasting final product.
  2. Let your imagine run wild. Choose flavors that are versatile or fun. Here’s some ideas to get you started:
  • Lemons (sliced)
  • Tarragon (fresh)
  • Cranberries
  • Red Hot Candies
  • Jalapenos (halved)
  • Apples (sliced or diced)
  • Pears (sliced or diced)
  • Vanilla Beans (sliced in half lengthwise)
  • Coffee Beans
  • Cinnamon sticks

3.  Simply add your flavor ingredient to a clean, dry glass container that has a tightly fitting lid. (mason jars work great) and pour the vodka over the ingredient and secure the lid. Note: How much of your flavor ingredients used will depend on how strong you’d like the flavor to be and how large your container is.

Now you wait. Put your containers in a cool dark place (the back of a cupboard works nicely). Shake the containers a little every two days or so to make sure the flavors are distributing evenly. When the vodkas are infused, they will need to be strained through a cheesecloth or coffee filter. If you leave your flavor ingredients in the vodka, they may turn bitter and ruin the whole bottle.

Here’s a guideline on how long you should wait before straining:

  • Fresh herbs, vanilla beans or citrus fruits … 3-4 days.
  • Tree fruits or berries … 1 week.
  • Hot peppers, cinnamon sticks and candies … 2 weeks.

Today I made cranberry, candy cane and caramel infused vodkas. Here’s a picture of what they looked like a few minutes after adding the vodka. As you can see, the flavors start to infuse almost right away…

After your vodkas are strained and poured into your container of choice for gift giving, make a cute little label and store back in a cool dark place. Now you have something to keep in your stash closet for those times that you need a “go-to” gift in a jiffy!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gift Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Infused Vodkas ~ Great “Standby” Gift!

  1. df says:

    Fantastic idea; the caramels are oddly appealing for me!

  2. That’s an awesome idea! I love coming here so much, you’re so creative 😀

  3. Deborah says:

    What purpose do these have; how are they used? Deborah

    • You use them for mixed drinks. They enhance the flavors…for instance, if you were making a White Russian and used the caramel vodka instead of regular vodka, the drink would have another level of flavor.

  4. Yum! I have a bunch of bottles that I need to use up, filling them with Vodka sounds like a great idea 😉

  5. MrsWally says:

    I see you have a short amount of time listed for the vanilla beans…IF it is being made into extract (vanilla extract for baking) it needs to be a much longer time (few months, maybe 6 for various sources I’ve seen online). I’m guessing the recipe shared is more flavored alcohol than it is for extracts.

    • Thanks for your input! It is indeed just to flavor the vodka and you’re right…when I make vanilla extract, mine sits for at least 3 months. The longer the better though! Thanks for stopping in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

