Un-Stuffed Cabbage

I absolutely adore stuffed cabbage. I do not adore the work that goes into preparing that particular meal. Today my sister-in-law brought up the fact that she had been eating stuffed cabbage all last week, which in turn made me very hungry for…you guessed it…stuffed cabbage.

I had everything I needed. There was already cooked ground beef in the freezer, a head of cabbage in the fridge and everything else needed to create this epic comfort food. Everything except motivation. I improvised. I made it into a nice thick stew-like dish rather than cabbage rolls with sauce poured over them. Here’s how:

  • 1 lb ground beef, cooked and drained
  • 1 small head cabbage, cut in large pieces
  • 1 quart V8 juice (or same amount of tomato sauce)
  • 1 packet of boil-in-bag rice (I use brown, but any rice will do)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Cook the rice as per package directions. In a large pot, add 1/2 inch of water to the bottom and cook cabbage pieces over medium high heat until tender. Add the cooked beef, the cooked rice, the V8 juice and the brown sugar to the pan. Salt and pepper to taste. Simmer on low until heated through. Serve with a nice crusty bread.

And there you have it. This wonderful belly-pleasing meal without the hassle. Excuse me, but dinner is waiting…

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

