Pennsylvania Woman Charged With Peanut Neglect

Ok, not really…but I should be! In the beginning of the summer, I planted some peanut seeds in one of my garden beds. It was the first time that I grew peanuts, but it was one of those “wouldn’t it be great if I could grow ____” plants. Well, the peanut plants grew beautifully! I literally did not touch those plants all Summer. Or all Fall. Every time I looked at them as I was walking through the garden, they were doing great.

Well, the more time that went by…the more I forgot about them. Now, in my own defense, the garden is over 100 feet long and we have about twenty beds, six trellises and a bean teepee. AND we don’t live where we garden. Ok, enough excuses. Well, earlier this week, something clicked when I was going through my mental list of things to do. One of the things that was already on that list was to clear the last of the beds. So as I visualized the beds that had not been cleared…something steered my brain cells to row 2, bed number 5. Peanuts!!!

I immediately panicked, thinking that there was no way that any of those peanuts (if the plants even produced) were still going to be good. In the last month, we have gone through lots of rains from Hurricane Sandy and had numerous nights with temps well below freezing. I was sad.

So today, I headed to the farm, expecting the worst. I walked up to the bed and mentally kicked my own butt when I saw the deader than dead peanut plants surrounded by new weeds. I went to work anyway, knowing that the bed had to be cleared for winter. Well as I tugged at the first plant, a little white bump moved next to it. I dug around the little white bump with my finger and there it was! A peanut!! I got so darn excited. The more I cleared, the more peanuts I found. I couldn’t believe it. I ended up getting about 2 pounds of peanuts from 6 plants. Yay!

I was also able to harvest the last of the carrots, which will be canned this weekend, about 3 pounds of potatoes that I neglected as well, (I know!!) and the remaining radishes.

I also took the dried bean pods off of the vines, and will use the dry beans for soups, etc this winter.

That is my story. I take full blame. My bad. I didn’t mean to neglect those poor peanuts. But, let’s look at it this way…I raised them to be so independent, that I knew they could take care of themselves. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pennsylvania Woman Charged With Peanut Neglect

  1. df says:

    I’ve been guilty of this kind of neglect in the garden so many times, and not usually with such fine results. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

