Taco Egg Bake

I call this type of dish a “Round Two” recipe. That’s because it’s made mostly from leftovers or bits and pieces from other meals. I found myself having about a little bit of taco meat leftover, along with a smidgen of cheddar cheese from taco night earlier in the week. I detest waste, so I wanted to use it up. Here’s what I came up with:

Taco Egg Bake

  • 9 eggs
  • 1/2 cup lowfat milk
  • 1/2 cup leftover taco meat (or sub 1/4 cup cooked ground beef and 1 tsp taco seasoning)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded or cut into small bits
  • 1/4 cup diced tomato
  • 1/8 cup minced onion
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Spray a 9 inch pie plate with nonstick cooking spray.
  3. Crack the eggs into a medium bowl, mix lightly with a fork.
  4. Add the milk and mix lightly again.
  5. Add the remaining ingredients and stir to incorporate.
  6. Pour mixture into the pie plate.
  7. Cook for 30 minutes or until set.

You can top your slices with salsa, guacamole, sour cream or anything else you can think of! The great part about this recipe is its versatility. You can literally throw any kind of leftovers into it. Just stick to the same amount of eggs and milk and let your imagination go wild with the rest! How about ham, broccoli and american cheese? Maybe hot sausage, green peppers and onions? Whatever you have left over, consider using this as your Round Two recipe!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taco Egg Bake

  1. mmmarzipan says:

    It looks really good! 🙂

  2. love this idea–sounds like a round one made out of round two

  3. df says:

    These are great moments when they happen. I made potato patties for breakfast (with poached eggs) this morning from the leftover Colcannon that I had from last night. It worked out pretty well!

Leave a Reply

