Homemade Coffee (or Tea) Creamer

So…who would like a big splash of Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate with their coffee? How about some Diglycerides Dipotassium Phosphate? No? Me either! Well, those are some of the ingredients that I found listed in a bottle of “dairy” coffee creamer. Blech.

Instead of serving that to friends and family, or even pouring it into my own hot tea this winter, I made my own. It is the easiest thing in the world and without ingredients that I can’t pronounce.

The base for any flavor of the coffee creamer is:

  • a 14 ounce can of sweetened condensed mik
  • 1 1/2 cups of skim milk

That’s it! You then add any flavor that strikes your fancy. I made some vanilla flavored creamer (by adding 2 tsp of vanilla extract), but I’ll share some other flavors as well.

Simply pour the ingredients into a large jar with a tight lid. Now comes the fun part. Put the lid on securely and then shake the dickens out of the contents. Go ahead, put on some 70’s disco and shake your booty jar all around the kitchen. This is necessary because as you can see, the condensed milk is very thick and otherwise wouldn’t incorporate with the milk.

And there you have it. Homemade flavored coffee creamer. It’s thick, it’s sweet, it’s fresh and of course it’s healthier than swallowing any of the chemicals found in the other stuff. I have determined my cost to be $2.12 for 26 ounces. If I used a coupon to buy the other stuff, I’d pay $1.15 for only 16 ounces, so the price is quite comparable.

Here are some other flavors you may want to try:

  • Strudel ~ 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp almond extract
  • Chocolate Mint ~ 1 tbsp cocoa, 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • Pumpkin ~ 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • Toffee ~ 2 tsp brown sugar (very sweet though)

Feel free to experiment and add/subtract amounts to suit your taste. Once you start mixing up your own flavors, there’s no stopping!

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Coffee (or Tea) Creamer

  1. christine says:

    I usually go with plain jane half-and-half. But this sounds interesting…

Leave a Reply

