It’s Oatmeal Season!

Let’s face it, there is just nothing like a warm bowl of oatmeal to get us going on a cold morning. I love that oatmeal is back “in style”. You can get it at any restaurant now, including fast food joints. Only one problem…you don’t know what you’re getting. Same goes with those instant oatmeal packets that you buy in the box. They’re just loaded with ingredients that I’d rather not consume. Easy fix. Make your own oatmeal packets!

They are a cinch to put together, make great gifts, are much more nutritious and taste great! Here’s the starter recipe for 8 simple, plain packets of instant oatmeal:

  • 3 cups Quick Oats
  • Salt
  • Baggies

In a food processor (or spice mill in small batches), process 1 cup of the quick oats until it is a powder. It will look like this…

 

For each individual serving (bag) of instant oatmeal, you will need:

  • 1/4 cup regular quick oats
  • 2 tbsp powdered oats
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Now comes the fun part. You can make any flavor you want from the basic starter recipe. I made some Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal by adding:

  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp dried apples (I used some I dehydrated from our tree last year)

To cook the instant oatmeal packets, add 3/4 cup boiling water to one packet and let stand for two minutes. You can adjust the water amount depending on how thick you like your oatmeal.

I then reused cracker bags to store the individual servings. I simply cut them to size, put in my oatmeal, folded them closed and stapled them shut. (Packaging tape makes a great seal if storing for a longer period of time or you don’t want to risk any spills) You can obviously use small baggies just as well. I then made simple labels by putting a folded piece of scrapbook paper over the top, writing the name of the oatmeal on the label, stapling it in place and trimming the sides.

 

 

 

 

If you are giving these as gifts, you can make them very special by printing out your own labels, using fabric, foil bags…use your imagination!

Here are a few other varieties that you can experiment with. Simply add the ingredients to your individual starter oatmeal packets:

Blueberries and Cream ~  1 Tbsp non-dairy coffee creamer, 1 Tbsp sugar and 2 Tbsp dried blueberries

Brown Sugar and Cinnamon ~ 1 Tbsp. brown sugar & 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Cookies and Cream ~ 1 crushed Oreo cookie, 1/2 Tbsp sugar and  1 Tbsp. non-dairy coffee creamer

Healthy Nut ~ 2 Tbsp. any kind of wheat germ, 1/2 tsp ground flax seed, 1 tsp sugar and 1 tsp chopped nuts (your choice)

S’More ~ 6 miniature marshmallows and 1 Tbsp. Milk Chocolate Chips

Simply Sweetened ~ 1 tbsp sugar

Obviously, the varieties are limited only by your imagination. You know you wanna try it. Let me know if you come up with some new varieties that I can add to my cabinet!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals, Gift Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s Oatmeal Season!

  1. christine says:

    I tried dried cherries and almonds this morning and it was pretty good. Banana nut is my favorite but I’m pretty sure it only works with fresh (very ripe) bananas. The little gift packets are adorable.

  2. Allison says:

    Great idea! I love all of your different oatmeal flavor suggestions, too. : )

  3. df says:

    What a wonderful idea, I love this! This would make a great stocking stuffer for one of my children who loves oatmeal for breakfast. I like the idea of a packet using pumpkin pie spices, which could also include dried cranberries and chopped pecan. I adore dried cherries and wonder if that might be a good starting point for another.

  4. Little Sis says:

    Three cheers for oatmeal season!! Actually having a few of these ready to go and asking them to pick a “flavor” might increase the juvenile oatmeal enthusiasm around here. Thanks for all the great ideas.

  5. mmmarzipan says:

    Love this post! I love oats 🙂

  6. These would make GREAT Christmas gifts!

Leave a Reply

