Community Garden…Our Attempts

I’m not sure how it all happened so quickly, but about two months ago a friend and I were talking. She was telling me about her dreams of having a community garden in our town. The next thing I knew, the subject was brought up during a conversation with our church’s new pastor. His response to the idea was “Let’s do it”.

And here we are. We have formed a committee that meets on a regular basis. We’ve already met with city council in an attempt to get permission to use a vacant lot. We’ve gathered volunteers and reached out to local groups. And now, we’re working on what we have dubbed a “demonstration garden”. It is a small scale garden that we will use to display our dreams. We are using a lot that sits next to our church.

Last week, we broke ground on the demonstration garden. Our goal is to have it completed before the church’s fall festival in mid October. I know, our timing is a little off whack…planting a garden in September. But we’re hoping that we’ll have some cool weather crops peeking out of the ground when the festival rolls around. If not, I’ll probably grab some lettuce from my fridge and prop it up in the beds. 🙂

Here’s some pics from the ground breaking work day last week:

Didn’t they do a great job? Funny side note: Most of the plot was filled with purslane. We tried to tell everyone to take some home and make a salad, but they just wouldn’t “bite”. I don’t think they believed that purslane was yummy. Don’t worry, I’ll bring them around.

Do you have a community garden in your area? If you have a link, please add it to the comments. We’re hoping that ideas from other established gardens will help us design a beautiful garden for our community. Never stop growing!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Community Garden…Our Attempts

  1. shanegenziuk says:

    Best thing to start now is a couple of compost bins and some worm farms. Should be ready for Sping.
    As much used coffee grounds that your local coffee shops can give is a good way to get the volume of organics required to build a quality soil.

Leave a Reply

