Some Of My Favorite Money Saving Tips ~ Household

I absolutely love to save money. I am not an extreme person by any stretch of the imagination, but I get a great sense of satisfaction when I know that I can purchase what I need or want without having to go into debt. With gas prices going even higher, food prices rising and no relief in sight…I thought I’d share and/or remind you of just a few ways that I save money around the house. Every penny really does count.

When we polish off a box of cereal or crackers, I save the inner bag to use in the freezer. They are seriously the best thing that I have found to prevent freezer burn. I have tried freezer bags, vacuum sealers and all sorts of wraps. These bags, paired with Press N’ Seal are simply the best. You can see my prior post on these bags here if you’d like to read more.

A way to keep your water bill in check is to keep a large container (preferably with a pouring spout) in or near your sink. I keep mine in the less used side of my double sink. When waiting for water to heat up, I let it run into the container. That water is then used to water plants or fill the dogs water dish. It doesn’t simply run down the drain. I also keep any unused water from bottled water for the same purpose.

The last idea I’ll share with you is homemade fabric softener. It’s made with water, vinegar and hair conditioner. Using coupons or shopping at the Dollar Tree, you can get conditioner dirt cheap or free. The vinegar refreshes your machine and leaves a fresh scent. The softener now costs you pennies instead of four dollars.

These are just a few ways that I like to keep my spending in check. I’ll be sharing and or reposting more in the upcoming weeks. These are tough times folks. I’m just trying to make them a little easier. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Of My Favorite Money Saving Tips ~ Household

Leave a Reply

