Still Have Jalapenos? Can For a Cowboy!

My garden overflowith with peppers. All kinds of peppers. Hot, banana, sweet and everything in between. I have pickled many-o-jars, preserved some in oil and even dehydrated a bit. And yet they keep coming! Well I came across a canning recipe over at SB Canning for jalapenos named “Hawaiian Cowboy Delight”. It is a twist on Cowboy Candy (sweet pickled jalapenos) that adds some pineapple to the mix. You only need a pound of fresh jalapenos and a can of pineapple, as main ingredients. It sounds quite good, so I gave it a shot.

The recipe came together very easily, which I love. It is processed in a water bath, which I love. It has jalapenos and pineapple, which my husband will love. Here’s the recipe, which assumes that you are familiar with water bath canning techniques. If you are not, make sure to learn the process of canning prior to attempting this recipe.

Hawaiian Cowboy Delight

1 lb fresh jalapenos
2/3 cup cider vinegar
1 cup chunk fresh or canned pineapple, without juice
2 cups sugar
2 tablespoons mustard seed
Slice jalapenos. Mix cider vinegar, sugar, and mustard seed to low boil. Reduce for 5 minutes to a simmer. Add jalapenos at the simmer for 5 minutes more. Load hot sterilized jars with 4 to 5 chunks of pineapple. Using a slotted spoon add jalapenos first and add liquid filling the jars leaving a 1/4 headspace. Remove air bubbles with a rubber spatula or chopstick and refill to headspace if needed. Wipe rims with wet papertowel. Add hot lids/rings and place in water bath canner. Process at a full boil for 15 minutes. Makes 2 pints and 1 half pints or 5 half pints.
And that’s it! Easy, right? So if your garden is still cranking out jalapenos, why not give this recipe a try? I’ll bet it would be great to simmer a jar with kielbasa, or puree a jar and pour over cream cheese for a nice zingy dip. Hmmm. One of those jars might not make it to the pantry…
About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Canning and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Have Jalapenos? Can For a Cowboy!

  1. aisake50 says:

    Reblogged this on Aisake50's Blog.

Leave a Reply

