My New Find

Ok, it’s not necessarily a new find. More like a new purchase. I went to visit my daughter in college yesterday. First I delivered a truckload of groceries to her. Not kidding:

Then took her out for lunch before she had to rush off to her next class. It was great seeing her, but the visit was way too short. A good friend of mine had accompanied me so after lunch we headed directly to a used furniture warehouse that’s located in Kutztown. This place is amazing! Rows and rows of used furniture, antiques, wall art and almost anything else you can imagine for the home. This is just one corner:

This is the third time I had been to this store. It’s probably a good thing that it’s so far away because I could be dangerous in a place like this. Anyway, all three times that I was there, I kept being drawn to a certain piece. It called my name. It was big and old and had so much character! Due to the fact that my car was in the garage and I had to take my husband’s truck…guess what I hauled home! You betcha. I cleaned it up and put it in a semi-permanent location in my living room (until I decide where it will be showcased best). The only problem is that somewhere between here and Kutztown, we lost a knob. There was already one gone, and I planned on replacing them anyway so no harm/no foul. Isn’t it beautiful??? The best part was the price. I paid less than $200 for this baby. You can’t buy a faux-pressed-wood tv stand at Target for that price. I am so very happy with it.

On our way home, we decided to stop at a produce place that we had heard about. This market is about 45 minutes from our home, so not someplace that we would frequent often. After being there, I sure wish it was closer! The price on produce is insane! I came home with cherries, oranges, red beets, pears, radishes and bananas and paid $8.00. Love it there!

Obviously, a great day. I got to see my baby girl, spend time with a great friend, discover a new fun place and add a piece of furniture to my home that I will treasure for a long time. Not bad for a Thursday!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Photos, Thrift Store Finds and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My New Find

  1. christine says:

    That market looks wonderful!

  2. yalandarose says:

    i always thought it was funny that the first things moms buy their kids after college is food. i gained so much weight on my meal plan alone:)

    • hahahaha! That is so true. This however is her third year and she’s living off campus with no food plan. Mom can buy it cheaper than she can, so I try to cut the food budget wherever possible. She wouldn’t touch a coupon if it was lined in gold…well, maybe she’d make a necklace out of it then. 🙂

      • yalandarose says:

        coupons must just scream “old people” i tried to get in the extreme couponing phase but running around town just to catch a deal wasn’t saving me much, and i would get so mad when i had a really good coupon and left it at home!

  3. Stacey DErck says:

    So where was this produce market??? You always find the best things!

    Also, where and when is the auction you talked about in Selinsgrove??

    • Bill’s produce is in Schuylkill Haven and the produce auction is in Port Trevorton, a little past Selinsgrove. If I remember correctly, the auctions are every Wednesday and Friday. I really want to go to get some fall items!

Leave a Reply

