Cherry Kissed Pear Jam

This is my all time favorite jam in the whole wide world. I found a recipe that originally called for plums. I didn’t have any. I improvised. And I never looked back.

I then tweaked the recipe to be low sugar. You can certainly add more sugar if you’d like, I just find most jams too sweet for my taste. This is a freezer jam recipe, so there is no canning involved. Every year at this time, I start making this jam and I will make enough to get me through until next autumn. Here’s what you do:

Cherry Kissed Pear Jam

  • 3 cups pears, coarsely chopped or coarsely ground (or four cups if you dice them larger)
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen cherries, coarsely chopped or left whole (if you like big chunks in your jam)
  • 1 (1 3/4 ounce) package powdered fruit pectin
  • 2 cups sugar

Directions:

1. In a large pot, combine pears and cherries.
2. Stir in pectin.
3. Bring to a full rolling boil over high heat, stirring constantly.
4. Stir in sugar; return to a full rolling boil.
5. Boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly.
6. Remove from the heat; skim off foam if necessary.
7. Pour into jars or freezer containers and cool to room temperature, about 1 hour.
8. Cover and let stand overnight or until set, but not longer than 24 hours.
9. Refrigerate or freeze.


Since this is a freezer jam, you can use any freezer safe container. I reuse jars from other products. If you’re using canning jars, this recipe produces approximately 2 jelly jars, more if you are adding additional sugar.

Welcome to my jam obsession. If you try it, you’ll be hooked too.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cherry Kissed Pear Jam

  1. Allison says:

    This sounds fabulous and I bet it has the perfect balance of sweet and tart!

  2. Little Sis says:

    Drooling. Actively. Before i even read a word. Looks so very delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  3. christine says:

    I made this and loved it so much I made another batch this weekend to give as Christmas gifts. I’ve never made jam before! It was so easy and soooo delicious. I’m a little sad I missed out on the apricots this year. One question–do I need to do anything special to the glass jars before I freeze them? I assume I’ll need to freeze them to make them last until Dec… Thanks for introducing me to the wonderful world of jam!!

  4. Bonnie says:

    I love the recipe but would like to can it…..I’m assuming it would can up well, too?

    • I freeze it because I’ve reduced the sugar drastically. I would love to be able to can it, I just haven’t tried because of the fact that less sugar jams/jellies seem to go bad quicker than full sugar varieties when canned. If you would like to give it a shot, here’s the link to the National Center for Home Food Preservation and it’s guidelines on jams and jellies. I usually don’t venture beyond what they have to say for safety reasons. Let me know how you make out and thanks for taking a peek at my recipe! http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can_07/storing_jams.html

  5. Pingback: fruity pests « this clever camera

Leave a Reply

