This Is My Idea of Shopping!

While visiting my mother at her cottage yesterday, she took me to a wonderful market. It’s name is Whispering Pines Produce and Farm Market. When I walked in, I was like a kid in a candy shop. Or a man in a Black & Decker store. I had found my perfect store. The market is run by a Mennonite family and is surrounded by their fields and orchards. You can actually see where a lot of the produce is coming from. Novel idea, right? :-/

The prices are absolutely unbelievable. I paid 20 cents each for avocados. TWENTY CENTS. I still can’t get over that. I also got some great cheeses:

  • 3/4 pound smoked horseradish cheese $2.40
  • 3/4 pound green onion cheese $1.64
  • 1/2 pound creamy havarti $2.19

I mean…come on! I couldn’t make it myself for that price! I also came home with a giant ham and cheese stromboli, 2 apple dumplings, some sticky buns, a large cabbage, a pound of ground flax seed, a veggie tray with cheese, beef links and dip, a small roll of lebanon bologna and the following spices: mustard seed, whole allspice, ground mustard and alum powder. My grand total was $29.34. WHAT???

They have most of their items packaged “old school” in plastic bags, small plastic containers, baskets in the coolers, etc. I wanna live there.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This Is My Idea of Shopping!

  1. kris says:

    What state is this in. I googled it and it said Johnsburg Il. Which is by me

  2. Amy Reigle Burks says:

    WOW! That is unbelievable! We can’t by an avocado for under a dollar a piece here in Texas! Bell peppers are almost $2 a piece! I wouldn’t even be able to buy all of the spices you did at Walmart for under $20, unless I bought the cheapy ones that came from China, and who knows how the stuff is processed! Unfortunately our farmers markets around here are VERY expensive! Thank you for the visual! Made my mouth water and my heart yearn for “the old way of doing things”.
    Sweet blessings to you and your sweet hubby!
    Amy

    • Amy, our farmer’s markets are comparable to our groceries, but I would rather buy from them anyway because they’re local. This place however is way more than a farmer’s market. It’s like a step back into time. I can’t wait to go again! Have a wonderful day!

  3. where is this place–I want to live next door

Leave a Reply

