Fighting The Blight

For the third year in a row, our tomato plants have blight. Last year, it destroyed our entire crop before we could get any tomatoes. This year, we are able to stay a little ahead of the blight and are getting a nice crop. So far, we have only lost four tomatoes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Side note: Look at these funny looking guys! I have no idea why we ended up with some tomatoes that are shaped more like zucchini…

We apply fungicide and prune the plants at every new sighting. You have to remember, we don’t live where we grow and sometimes we only get to the garden on the weekends. That makes it a tad more difficult to stay ahead of fungi, bugs and other plant diseases. We rotate the crop every year, but unfortunately, blight spores can live for a very long time and it only takes one to get the ball rolling again. We also make sure to burn any infected debris and the plants themselves will be burned after they are done producing.

But as you can see, we have been pretty successful in our battle against blight. This is what I harvested yesterday and I can smell the tomato sauce in the crockpot as I type.

There’s only one side effect to working on the tomato plants all morning…

Speaking of bugs…look at this little bugger! He and his buddies were munching on the leaves of our baby Weeping Willow tree! They have half of the leaves gone. I flicked them all off and sprayed the tree with Neem oil. I have no idea if it will work and have to keep my fingers crossed on this one. I love that little tree!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Garden Tips, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fighting The Blight

  1. Little Sis says:

    HATE, HATE, HATE the blight. This is my third year with it as well, and while I’m getting SOME tomatoes this year, last year we were completely done in. What are you using to fight/prevent it?

    • We spray with Neem oil as a fungicide and also prune any/all leaves that have any sight of it as soon as it appears. As my husband says (who used to work in a tomato greenhouse) “any leaves under the flowers are not necessary”. He’s been right so far. A few of our plants have about half of their leaves gone, and the tomatoes are still doing fine. You also have to keep any debris (weeds, grass, and even high mulch) away from the bottom of the plant. It’s a tough battle!

  2. It seems a lot of people are suffereing with blight on their tomatoes this year, sorry to hear you are, but it sounds like you are managing it, and just look at that crop, nice one !

  3. That is one ugly bug!
    We have some odd shaped tomatoes just like yours – we thought they were Roma’s when we planted them, but they are kinda tubular and funny looking.

Leave a Reply

