Puffball Mushrooms Are Here!

We were so excited to see the first puff mushrooms of the season last week! Puff mushrooms are those big, white, ball-like mushrooms that you see growing in random places. They grow all around the farm and we look forward to them every year.

This is the lovely puff mushroom we had with our dinner last night:

These mushrooms have a soft consistency and I can’t eat them raw because of that texture. It’s a tactile thing. But sliced or chopped and then cooked off in brown butter….now that’s a different story! That’s how I cooked them last night and we then enjoyed those slices on our cheeseburgers. (Along with tossed salad and corn on the cob…talk about a perfect meal!)

If you’re not familiar with puff mushrooms, why not get yourself acquainted? Here’s a site to get you started. It’s just another delicious wild food that you can harvest that doesn’t cost a dime, is fun to find and is quite versatile! Please just make sure you know the surroundings and don’t ever forage for wild foods in areas that could have been sprayed with pesticides!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puffball Mushrooms Are Here!

  1. I used to find these all the time as a kid, but haven’t seen them in years and years. Maybe it’s just because I’m farther away from the ground than I used to be..

Leave a Reply

