Berry Shortcakes In a Jar

When I came into the mother load of blueberries and added them to the huge amount of black raspberries in my freezer, and still had blackberries to harvest I became a little overwhelmed.

I had a dilemma. See, I’m really the only one in the house that eats jam. We also don’t eat a lot of baked goods, so I needed something to do with all of these berries. As I was walking through the grocery store and came across a package of those premade, formed shortcakes that were marked down 50%…the lightbulb went off!

I simply took some of the already frozen berries and layered them into wide mouth jars with the shortcakes. I then popped them back into the freezer. Now, all we have to do is yank a jar out of the freezer, sprinkle some vanilla infused sugar over the berries, pour a little milk into the jar and devour us some berry shortcake! Now that’s what I’m talking about!

P.S. These lovely jars are stored in the freezer at the farm, so they weren’t harmed during the recent freezer incident! If you missed my freezer mayhem, you can read about it here. Now that I remembered to post about these…I’m sure I’ll be grabbing one soon!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Berry Shortcakes In a Jar

  1. This looks so yummy! The photo of the berries is beautiful, BTW.
    Would you come to my house and cook?
    Beth

Leave a Reply

