Garden Update and My Solar Cell Phone

It was another productive weekend at the farm, filled with beautiful weather, a moderate harvest and enjoying what the world has to offer. We didn’t get much done on Saturday, as hubby was recuperating from a nasty 24 hour bug. BUT, I did get a fantabulous deal on a new camera. It’s been ordered and will arrive at the end of the month. Excited!

Sunday was our work day. It was so very enjoyable to be outside in 80 degree, sunny weather that was accompanied by a consistent breeze. I cleared some of the raised beds and harvested tomatoes, beans and peppers. I am fighting late tomato blight, so a lot of time was spent pruning the plants. It seems no matter what we do, we end up with blight. We rotate the plants annually, trim the lower branches and spray with organic fungicide. This year, we even covered the majority of the soil around the tomatoes with newspaper. Nothing is working. At least it’s late blight so we are getting some tomatoes.

The beans on the teepee are growing like mad. They have won the war over the groundhog and grasshoppers and are almost to the top of the teepee. I don’t know about you, but in our garden, there are always a few “random” plants that pop up from dropped seeds the previous year. In the first picture below, you’ll see a random bean plant that popped up (behind the teepee). We always let our random plants grow wherever they land. We figure if they fought that hard to live, who are we to rip them up? So I inverted a tomato trellis over the two random  bean plants that I found and they seemed to like them.

Speaking of beans…the screen box that we made for the late bean plants is working like a charm! Whatever attacked our first box of bush beans is certainly not getting through the screen. You can see the difference between the ones under the screen and one poor little measly plant that didn’t make it under the screen…

Oh, and the sunflowers! The sunflowers are so incredibly tall! I’ll bet they are 7 to 8 feet and are currently in various stages of opening. They are beautiful! We will keep the seeds of these…some for munching, some for next years planting.

 

 

 

 

 

After I was finished working in the garden, hubby asked me if I could mow some grass while he worked on some things in the barn. I hesitated a bit…only because my mind flashed to my dying cell phone. I simply can’t mow grass without music. My music is on my cell phone. My cell phone had very little life left in it. I told hubby my dilemma. He said “I’ll be right back…I’ll need your cell phone and earbuds”. Soon enough, he came inside grinning like the Cheshire cat and asked me to come outside.

 

 

 

 

 

As we approached the riding mower, I saw what he had been up to. The little bugger rigged my cell phone to a small solar panel! So as I was mowing, my phone was charging the entire time…and I was mowing for no less than 2 hours…no wonder he’s known as “MacGyver”!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Garden Tips, Gardening, Just Fun, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden Update and My Solar Cell Phone

  1. elleadi says:

    What a beautiful garden! Quick question on the solar cell phone: I really would like to use a small solar panel to charge my phone but can you actually use it on a daily basis or do you need a really sunny day?

Leave a Reply

