My Days Are Scheduled By My Garden

It’s funny how this time of year, I find myself rearranging appointments or other obligations because I had a larger harvest than expected. Or my peppers are getting soft. Or I need more jars…

Those that don’t grow their own food won’t understand. Those that garden will understand completely. I simply can’t waste one single vegetable, berry or seed. They all must be used, preserved or eaten. Gardening is very hard work and to just let the fruits of your labor go bad is unspeakable.

Here’s what we came home with this weekend (along with a large bowl of tomatoes):

I also still had a little more zucchini that I wanted to use up, so in the last two days I’ve canned green beans (yes, I went through the whole process just to preserve one jars worth of harvest), preserved a bunch of peppers and created and subsequently made Tropical Zucchini Marmalade. I’m not so sure about that one. I still have more peppers to process and a good bit of cukes before we go back to the farm this weekend and harvest a new batch of goodies.

I do have to admit though, I adore when I glance over at my window and see tomatoes in varying stages of ripeness lining the sill.

I also love getting creative in my recipes and trying something new several times each harvesting season. I figure even if we don’t like it, there’s someone that will. I can always feed it to my daughter who swears everything I make is “amazing”.

Each year we like to experiment in the garden as well. We try to grow at least one thing that we hadn’t attempted before. This time around there were several new produce items gracing our garden beds. Rutabagas (flop), peanuts (we’ll see…), strawberries (no harvest first year) and purple beans. They’re my favorite.

The purple beans are a pole variety and despite the groundhogs ravenous appetite, are climbing the bean teepee higher and higher each day. We are finally getting some wonderful beans as well. The flowers they produce bring a nice pop of color to the garden, while the purple pods looks great in tiny purple slivers piled high on a green salad.

Have you attempted anything new in your garden? I’m already glancing through catalogs to plan for next year. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Days Are Scheduled By My Garden

  1. I love those purple green beans! I’ve never seen anything like it. Your photos are beautiful. I’m not much of a gardener myself. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I can grow squash and daisies with the best of them. But I DO love to can. So I have to rely on my husband’s green thumb and all those generous gardeners up to their ears in produce begging me to take some off their hands. I can totally relate to not wanting to waste a morsel. Nothing like the feeling of having a full cupboard of home canned goods. Have fun!
    Beth

  2. Linda says:

    Very nice! I too don’t like to waste a thing when it comes to my garden. I love adding something new to the mix. I added quite a bit to my little balcony garden this time–Meyer Lemon tree, Lemongrass, Tarragon, and Wild Strawberries. So far all the new guys have taken strongly to their new home. :] I also did try to grow a Picklebush Cucumber variety and it was a flop…it got powdery mildew very early on and really just didn’t want to grow properly.

    • LOVE that you are growing Meyer lemons…where do you live Linda? Are you in a warm climate? I’ve always wanted to grow a lemon tree, but we don’t even have any south facing windows to grow a miniature. 😦

      • Linda says:

        I’m currently in Nashville, TN…so it’s very warm compared to the northern area I grew up in, but perhaps not as warm as a lemon would like. I currently have it in a large pot on my east-facing balcony and it’s doing very well there–it has two small lemons already. It has been very tolerant of the lighting there (probably because it was nursery raised). I will have to bring it in for the winter and will stick a grow light over it to keep it from dropping leaves though. The flowers smell heavenly. It’s also been incredibly easy to care for so far.

      • How wonderful that you can do that. I’m in Central Pennsylvania and without maybe a greenhouse, I don’t think that I would attempt it! Good luck with that great tree!

      • Linda says:

        Thanks! The lemon tree will be coming with me when we finally move back up north, so hoping it lives as well up there as it has down here so far. Of course, I do want green houses one day…that’d be perfect now that you mention it. 😮

Leave a Reply

