Go…Make This Recipe…Now!

I have it in my mind that I want to try a new recipe each week, depending on what’s on sale of course. Today I was able to pick up three lovely chicken breasts for a mere $4.83, so I knew which recipe I was going to make. Crispy Buffalo Chicken Roll-Ups. So very glad I did! They are amazing. I’ll share the recipe with you, along with what modifications I made. The original recipe was found in The Taste of Home magazine, the Aug/Sept 2011 issue.

Here it is:

Crispy Buffalo Chicken Roll-Ups

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used three large ones)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese (I used gorganzola)
  • 1/4 cup hot pepper sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s Buffalo Wing Sauce ~ already had a bottle open, and it’s thicker)
  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 cup crushed corn flakes (I used Total bran flakes ~ hubby left 1/2 of a bowl worth in the bottom of the box)
  1. Flatten chicken breasts to 1/4 inch thickness. My frugal tip: Use empty cereal or cracker bags to put the chicken in to flatten rather than a baggie. I pounded the heck out of three breasts and not one single tear or hole.
  2. Season chicken with salt and pepper; sprinkle with blue cheese. Roll up each breast from a short side and secure with toothpicks.
  3. In a shallow bowl, combine pepper sauce and mayonnaise. Place cornflakes in a separate shallow bowl. Dip chicken in pepper sauce mixture, then coat with cornflakes. Place seam side down in a greased 11 x 7 inch baking dish.
  4. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink. Discard toothpicks.
  5. Devour this sinfully yummy dish.

The wing sauce that I used is not really spicy, it’s just flavorful, but if you love the heat, go ahead and use your favorite hot sauce. Now go…make this and wallow in all that is good. Seriously, look at that cheese oozing out. You know you wanna.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Go…Make This Recipe…Now!

  1. instillari says:

    Sounds and looks good!

  2. thecleverspender says:

    This looks really good! I will have to try this!

Leave a Reply

