Painted Traditions

With all of the focus on going back to school, it reminded me of a photo date that I had with my friend back in May. You see, in our area, there are two related traditions that involve spray paint. The first: High school seniors paint their names on a rock wall that is located outside of the high school. No one considers it vandalism. No one calls the police. Most people stop to see if there’s anyone they recognize and lower classmen look forward to their turn on the wall. It certainly adds a pop of color to the scenery!

The second is located a few miles outside of town. It’s called “Painted Road” or “Spray Paint Road” (depending on which generation you ask). It is a secluded country road that runs along the base of Line Mountain. There you will find approximately 2 to 3 miles of road filled with spray painted names and symbols. It’s kind of like a right of passage to have your name on the road. A lot of kids head out there when they finally have their driver’s licenses and “mark their territory”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Both traditions have been going on forever and have become a part of our kids histories. I like traditions. I like creating memories. I like that people around here see it as fun. And I like to drive down Painted Road and remember a time when my friends and I pulled over to the side of the same road, got out and marked our territory. I marked mine red. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Painted Traditions

  1. There is a painted rock wall outside of my little town, too. It’s fun to walk by it and recognize the names from years past. It actually has aesthetic qualities all it’s own. No one considers it vandalism here either. Thanks for posting!
    Beth

Leave a Reply

