Slow Down…Savor Your Cucumber

As I was preparing my lunch today (salad and an English Muffin), I was slicing one of the few cucumbers we got from the garden so far. As I was slicing, I was shoving slices in my mouth as my mind covered my mental list of things I still wanted to accomplish today. Before I knew it, the cucumber was half gone and I realized that I didn’t even taste it! I had to tell myself to slow down and take another bite. It was delicious.

So I took my lunch and sat at the kitchen table where I enjoyed every last bite without distraction. I felt the crunch of the vegetables, savored the slight sweetness of the dressing and let the homemade pear/black cherry jam sit on my tastebuds to enjoy it just a few seconds longer. I have to say, it was the best lunch I’ve had in a long time.

After lunch, I tried to remember what I ate yesterday during the day. I couldn’t remember! The last five days or so have been a blur for me. I have been going non-stop. My body has been sending signals to slow down for a few days now. Luckily, my mind finally caught up.

Today, I am giving myself permission to slow down. Even if it’s for a little bit. I suggest you do the same. Do at least one thing slowly today and enjoy the whole experience. LOOK at the cucumber…it really is miraculous and beautiful. It has wonderful shades of green, it beads lovely little droplets of water when exposed to the warm air and the pattern of it’s seeds is purely whimsical.

Take a long bath and relish in the popping bubbles. Kiss your honey slowly and get those butterflies in your belly again. Lay in the grass and watch the clouds move across the sky. Whatever you do…do it slowly. Throw yourself into the experience. I think you’ll be glad you did.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Slow Down…Savor Your Cucumber

  1. A very whimsical post today! A kiss like that might end up with straw in my hair though.. 🙂

  2. christine says:

    An important reminder. I’m always working on trying to be more present, but it’s a real struggle for me.

  3. Stacey says:

    It’s the little things in life that we take for granted on a daily basis — thanks for the reminder to stop and savor every bit that life has to offer!

  4. This was like a nice romance novel. Sigh. So lovely!

Leave a Reply

