Happy Garden…Tired Me.

First, the big news. It rained. Real rain. A good, soaking, pounding-on-the-roof rain. What a giant relief it was! Just a story about how dry it really was: Over the weekend, hubby dug a post hole and was almost two feet down and the soil was still bone dry. We were getting very concerned. This is what the corn looked like across the road from us yesterday:

Speaking of yesterday…we had been watching the radar all day long in hopes of some rain. Forecast said we had an 80% chance. Well, throughout the day, that percentage decreased and decreased. Until about 6pm. We saw the big one. There was no way this one was going to miss us. So we headed outside to watch it approach. It was awesome! Seeing those black and gray clouds roll in. It was so defined, you could actually see the line that divided sunshine into darkness (If you look closely, you can see the birds flying away from the storm).

Then we could hear it. The rain. We heard it as it approached, and we waited until the very last minute before we ran into the house. We then sat in our favorite porch chairs and watched as the sky dumped buckets of water on top of us. I’m pretty sure I heard my cucumbers giggling in the garden.

The storm was a great diversion from my canning marathon. In the last three days, I have preserved in some fashion: 8 quarts of blueberries, one quart of blackberries, 15 pounds of peaches, 8 quarts of plums, 5 pounds of potatoes, 2 pints of hot peppers and half a dozen large cloves of garlic. These are some of the gold plums:

I also harvested another 20 onions, which are currently curing on the porch. I canned for two days while at the farm, and still came home with this crazy amount of fresh produce:

Needless to say, I spent the majority of today canning and preserving as well. I do have to say though, that I’m down to about 15 pounds of potatoes and half a dozen extra large zucchini. That’s after tonight’s dinner in which a cheesy zucchini casserole was the star. I’m tired. Real tired. But the kind of tired after you get a huge task accomplished. The good tired. I better rest up though, now that we got rain my garden is going to go nuts!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Garden…Tired Me.

  1. Lula Harp says:

    Congrats on a task well done and the bounty of a happy garden

  2. Wow, that’s a load of canning. Sounds like my kind of fun!
    Nothing as fragrant as rain on the hot parched earth. One of my favorite smells.
    So happy you finally got some rain!
    Beth

  3. rain and being tired can be two very good things

  4. Wow! You should be tired, after all of that. Tonight I’m doing a little garden cooking too. I’ve got a huge pot of onion, green pepper, zucchini, garlic and basil from the garden simmering with the rest of last years frozen whole tomatoes. Once it’s done, I’ll freeze the sauce. It feels like an accomplishment, doesn’t it?

  5. Little Sis says:

    I am SO jealous of your rain. We keep getting the high percentage chance numbers, and then they just drop. Or we get a 5 second sun shower and then nada. I am also WAY impressed by your canning operation. I do some every September with tomatoes, but haven’t really done much more than that and the occasional batch of jam. If the garden lives through this, maybe this year will be the year.

    • Sending a rain dance your way! And if you do end up canning other things, just start with small batches. That’s what I did. I discovered that I like it so much, I pretty much can and preserve all year long!

  6. oldentimes says:

    Even watering pretty regularly, the weather has taken a heavy toll on our garden this year. Have not fot to do nearly as much canning and preserving as I would like. Thankful for what we have got.
    So glad to know you got rain! Hope some makes it this way so we can get out a fall garden.

    • That is our thoughts exactly! We are turning our attention to the fall garden. Between the heat, the bugs and the lack of rain…so much less canning than normal. Even the tomato plants are behind, but seem do be doing “ok” (fingers crossed). Maybe a lot of green tomato relish in my future. :-/

  7. Pleeeeeeeeease talk about how you can and what you do and such. I haven’t been able to work my paranoid brain up to doing anything in that general direction, I think I need to know what it involves. I am very much in awe of your canning expertise.

Leave a Reply

