Cookin’ Craziness!!

I am coming down off of a whirlwind cooking afternoon. At times, I’m sure I resembled the Tasmanian Devil as I spun around the kitchen, making inaudible sounds as I twirled. The initial inspiration: a rotisserie chicken that I purchased yesterday, discounted to $3.00 because it had reached its “please take me home” date.

First, I pulled off all of the meat and made a scrumptious chicken salad with red grapes and sliced almonds. Chicken salad sammies with homemade pickles and some fresh fruit = dinner tonight.

Then I cooked off the carcass, transforming it into 6 beautiful jars of chicken broth. Three went into the freezer (I plan on using them soon) and I canned three. Along with the broth, I canned two jars of green beans from the garden before they started to get wilty.

I then turned my attention to some homemade root beer that I had purchased from a Mennonite produce stand about a week ago. I wasn’t loving it, but I knew others would after I made some root beer jelly out of it. Add four jars of root beer jelly to the “DONE” list. Did you know that you can make jelly out of soda? Any darn flavor you want. If you’d like me to post the recipe, just let me know. Someone has requested the recipe and here it is. Please note that this recipe assumes that you are familiar with the process of water bath canning. If you are not, please do not attempt until you are familiar, so that the recipe can be made safely.

Root Beer Jelly:

  • 1 1/2 cups root beer
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/2 packet of liquid pectin
  1. Combine root beer and sugar.
  2. Heat to boiling stirring to dissolve sugar.
  3. Add pectin.
  4. Stir constantly to bring to a boil and boil hard for 30 seconds.
  5. Ladle into clean hot jars and process for 5 minutes in a boiling water bath canner.
  6. Remove jars from canner and allow to cool on a wire rack or clean towel.
  7. You may substitute the root beer for any flavor of soda.

I am rounding out the evening by making a turkey/stuffing casserole using up some discounted turkey fillets that I also purchased yesterday. Total cost for the casserole was $5.52. It’s in the oven as I type. Can you say dinner tomorrow?? Woo Hoo!!

I already told my husband that I totally expect to find all sorts of mystery burns on my arms, legs and feet (barefoot cooking…when will I learn) from all of the boiling, steaming, sizzling and splattering that I created today. Tomorrow: pickled red beets, preserving the last of the garlic and something to do with the turnips…At least I won’t have to cook dinner!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Money Saving Ideas, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cookin’ Craziness!!

  1. I am dangerous in the kitchen too

    • Not kidding…I once went to the dermatologist for an unknown mark on my thumb that wasn’t going away. They even biopsied it. Turned out to be a burn from a canning session that I didn’t remember getting. hahahaha

  2. kris says:

    Yes please post the jelly recipe It sounds very interesting

  3. That’s quite the day of productivity! Wear your shoes tomorrow..

  4. lisa says:

    you inspire me

  5. Sheryl says:

    Thanks for posting the recipe! I’m looking forward to giving it a try. 🙂

  6. ARRRRRRRRGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!
    I MUST purchase a book on canning and all of the required items!!!
    I have already told Phil that this is on my Christmas list.

  7. Allison says:

    Wow, I had no idea you could make jelly out of soda… Root beer is definitely the first flavor I’d try, too!

Leave a Reply

