Big Storm!! Or Not.

We had been stuck in a heat wave for quite a while. Add to that zero rainfall and it makes for a sad garden, which in turn makes for a sad me. Well, yesterday the non-stop “beep, beep, beep” that was coming across the radio announced that a severe thunderstorm was heading our way. A quick check of the radar confirmed and it looked like a doosey! We secured everything outside and waited. We watched the black clouds come over the mountain. We heard the wind whistle before it even reached us then watched as it started to swish our trees around. Yes!!! Finally!! A dandy storm is coming to give our garden (and grass) a drink!

Well, the joke was on us. Despite the almost night-like darkness and the howling winds, the storm broke up and we got approximately 17 drops of rain. I could have cried. So guess what we did last night?? Yep, watered the garden. All 100 feet of it. My husband had to set up a portable watering system from the back of the truck today so the pumpkin patch can be watered. The grass is still crunchy, leaves on the trees are turning yellow and the corn in the field across the road is starting to show its weariness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, at least the high temp today so far was only 88 degrees. That’s a move in the right direction. The forecast however is showing zero chance of rain this week. (Other than a 30% chance on Tuesday) That is not good. Not good at all. But I’m a gambling woman, and I’m going to put all my money (and veggies) on that 30%. If not, I’m afraid that we may end up losing some of the garden since we won’t be here all week. So if you don’t mind, can you please take a moment out of your day to do a little rain dance for me? Thank you so much.

 

 

Photo credit goes to Triangle Dude Comics….it was very appropriate I thought. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Big Storm!! Or Not.

  1. oldentimes says:

    Sounds like you live whereI do. 11 days now of 100+. We have had ro quit watering the garden. Makes me very sad. It thunders and rumbles and doesn’t even get the porch steps wet… Weather man is saying cooler tomorrow (95 for the high) but scattered showers aare not doing much for the serious need for rain.

  2. Little Sis says:

    It really has been brutal. The last couple of “rainstorms” we’ve gotten have been similar – lots of noise and darkness, a lot of heavy wind, and not enough rain to feed a frog a drink.

    • It’s at least a little comforting to know we’re not the only ones in this situation, it’s just so darn frustrating. We work so hard in the garden and to see it “dusty” is heart breaking. I think we need a national rain dance!!

      • Little Sis says:

        I’m ready… I’ll go harness the kids – they’re always up for a dance. I hope you get a little water while you’re gone.

  3. amy b. says:

    I feel your pain. We’ve had the exact same experience here recently. I could see the lightning, hear the thunder, smell the rain, but could walk between the raindrops. Heartbreaking. Hoping we all get some moisture soon.

  4. christine says:

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your 30%. Send some our way!

  5. We are desperate for rain too – both wells have now gone down to sulphur.. nasty. And our garden is doing badly too.

  6. I feel your pain! I watch the storms come in and make a bunch of noise and flashes and then move on with hardly any rain at all! Not sure exactly where you are, but it looks like there is a lot of rain coming in the Southeast. Hopefully it will come to you!

    • I’m in Central Pennsylvania believe it or not! You would think I was in the south with all of this heat! Not much of a chance this week says the weatherman, but I’m going to keep doing my rain dance to change his mind!

Leave a Reply

