That’s The Way The Fruit Crumbles

Fruit season is here! Can I hear a big YAY!! Nothing beats summer fruit. We have several first harvests completed, gathering what appears to be a significant haul of raspberries this year. Time to get creative! Other than freezing, canning, jams, syrups, etc. there’s always the old standby. Baking. I don’t bake. I don’t enjoy it one bit. For those that have been reading my posts long enough, you are already aware of my weird aversion to touching flour. Blech. I also don’t really like recipes that I can’t “tweak” to make my own. True baking is a science. My brain is too haphazard for science. Enter fruit crumble (or crisp as some refer to it). What a lovely compromise between baking and cooking!

I’m going to share with you today a wonderful crumble recipe that you can use for any fresh (or frozen) fruit. Today I made peach/black raspberry crumble. I originally got the recipe from Eating Well magazine. It is a waistline-friendly version. I tweaked it a tad to use what I had in the house. 🙂 Nutritional info (as per Eating Well): 252 calories, 11 g fat, 1 g sat. fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 38 g carbs, 5 g fiber, 4 g protein, 1 mg sodium and 179 mg potassium.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3 cups fresh or frozen fruit, cubed
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp whole wheat flour (or you can use all purpose), divided
  • 1 tbsp orange juice (I used grape juice)
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup almonds or pecans, chopped or thinly sliced
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp canola oil

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Combine fruit with sugar, 1 tbsp flour and the juice. Divide among four 6 ounce ovenproof ramekins. Combine oats, nuts, brown sugar, remaining 2 tbsp flour and cinnamon. Drizzle the mixture with oil and stir to combine. Sprinkle over the fruit mixture.
  3. Place the ramekins on a baking sheet. Bake until the fruit is bubbling and the topping is golden, 20 to 25 minutes. Let stand for at least 10 minutes before serving as it is very hot.

Mine came out a little dry today and I realized that my peaches weren’t totally ripe and juicy, so I should have added a little more juice. Use your best judgement.

 

Side note: I didn’t own ramekins. I have a hodgepodge of small casserole dishes and soup bowls, but no ramekins. While at Walmart today, I thought I’d see if they had any. They did. They wanted me to dish out $15 for four plain, small boring ramekins. I stopped by the thrift store on my way home and found two for $.25 each. I put the other two crumbles in the tiny casserole dishes I have. Let the hunt for more ramekins begin! And don’t you just love the vintage juice glass I picked up for $.25 as well? We have a ton of mixed vintage juice glasses at the farm that make me smile when I drink out of them. I think this one will too.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s The Way The Fruit Crumbles

  1. Good for you, hitting up that thrift store! Approx savings: $7 for two ramekins. 😀
    I also don’t bake very well. Stupid science. I, like you, love to experiment. Use what I have, add what I like, change the amounts of spices, etc. Baking doesn’t have too much wiggle room.

Leave a Reply

