S’Mores, A Smoker, Bowls Full of Berries and a Hot Water Heater

The title of this post pretty much sums up my last four days. We had stayed at the farm from last Wednesday through yesterday and had a great time. Mostly. I spent the day Friday cleaning and cooking for a small picnic we were having on Saturday. The cleaning part went quite well, however the cooking slowed down a tad when the realization hit that we had no hot water. None. Fabulous. After hubby got home from work, he looked at the heater, gave it the last rites and pronounced its passing. Not much we could do about it before the picnic, so we improvised. My canning pot came in real handy to heat water for dishes and baths. (After that first attempt at a cold shower…we quickly opted for baths!) We pretended we were pilgrims. With a stove.

The picnic went very well. My husband is climbing the ladder towards the goal of Smoke Master and let me tell you…after Saturday, he is so close to the title he can touch it. We dined on two of the most divine smoked briskets ever. One had a dry rub, while the other was marinated. Both delicious in their own unique ways. Everyone brought a dish and the meal turned out to be the most fabulous picnic meal ever devoured on Earth. Seriously. We had brisket, cole slaw, baked beans pasta salad, three different kinds of dips, pierogies and a sugar cookie turned sheet cake with berries for dessert. Perfection.

Later on, the campfire was lit and we grabbed the S’Mores kit I had made. I saw the original idea in Pinterest land, but made it my own. It as so easy to do. Find a picture you like, add your own words, print it out. I then cut out squares from cracker and cereal boxes the same size and glued the pictures to the cardboard. Two hole punches, string some twine and tie around the neck of mason jars. Fill the jars with goodies needed for S’Mores and there you have it. I found individual extendable hot dog forks at the Dollar Tree, put them in a basket and placed the basket and jars into a fruit box. Displayed on the porch where everyone could grab one on their way in or out of the house.

 

 

Side note: We brought out the pallet table I made and put the glider back together to use even though I only got one coat of paint on it so far. But the most fun “Recycle, Repurpose, Revamp” project of the weekend? We used an old wooden chair seat as a cutting board! I didn’t have one big enough for these very large briskets, so we improvised. It worked like a charm.  Hubby said “I knew there was a reason I didn’t burn that long ago”. I love when things just come together.

 

 

 

Sunday…off to Lowe’s we go for a new water heater. Luckily, the sales associate was very knowledgeable and set us up with what we needed. Hubby was able to install it himself in an hour or two and we were back up and running! I set out to pick the first harvest of wild black raspberries that grow EVERYWHERE on our property. If I had to guess on how many bushes we have, I’d be in the 100 to 150 range. It is crazy! The first harvest reaped approximately 9 pints of beautiful berries. I already froze half, a quarter are going to my mom today and I’ll make a small batch of jam tomorrow with the rest. Next batch, I’m going to try my hand at canning them whole.

 

 

 

And that is our extended weekend. Filled with delicious food, good company, gratitude for our bounty and sprinkled with a cold shower. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff, Picnic Fun, Repurpose Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to S’Mores, A Smoker, Bowls Full of Berries and a Hot Water Heater

  1. Sounds like a great weekend. I love the s’mores kits – great idea. And the glider and pallet table look comfy and homey.

    • Thanks! It was a great weekend. Busy, but awesome. The glider will be great after a few more coats of paint and I’m torn on whether or not I want to stain or paint the table. Decisions, decisions!

  2. What is it about men and their smokers? God forbid the hubby help me with Christmas Dinner, but spend a day drinking with the guys in front of their smokers and he’s running to join!

  3. Stacey says:

    You just totally amaze me with all of your creative ideas!

  4. This sounds amazing! I’m very jealous of your weekend, and I love how your table and glider look!

Leave a Reply

