Farming, Photo Taking, Mourning and Revamping

Busy, busy, busy!! We have so much going on right now that it is insane. The farm of course needs some major upkeep. Mowing, weeding, pruning etc. It is crazy hard to keep up with three acres of mowing, a 100 foot garden and prepping for a get-together at your second home while trying to maintain the first. But, the joys it brings makes it all worth while at the end of the day.

I’ve been carrying my camera with me everywhere as always. By the way, here’s my two submissions for the photo challenge:

13 ~ Reminds you of childhood:

This is a pic of a very old glider that has been at the farm for as long as I can remember. I used to love to lay on it and swing ever so gently while staring up at the sky. It has seen better days. Well, guess what I’m doing today? Yep, finally getting around to revamping the glider. I’m scraping and grinding at the old paint and plan to then paint it a fabulous red with some good rust resistant paint due to the fact that I will be keeping it outside during the summer. Love this glider.

14 ~ Someone you love:

This isn’t a photo that I’ve taken recently. It’s a picture of my dad and my daughter when she was 8 years old. My father passed away 10 1/2 years ago and with father’s day coming up, I’m thinking about him a lot and missing him even more. I love them both very much.

There is a lot of new life around the farm. This morning we had the pleasure of seeing a momma turkey and at least 10 of her babies walk down to the pond for a breakfast drink. We also watched as another new momma bird made numerous trips back and forth to her birdhouse in order to feed her babies. Please pardon the quality of the pictures. They were taken through the window glass and the turkeys were at least 100 yards away.

And I am sad to report that our adopted duck, Luke, has been missing for about five days now. I am heart broken. Even though he was only here for a short time, I was nuts about that duck. He had a great personality. I’m hoping that he just took a vacation and will be back soon. I miss the little guy!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in DIY, Life Stuff, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

