Today…I Saved a Pound Cake From Certain Death

As I was doing my grocery shopping today, I came across a package of sliced pound cake in the bakery department of the store. It was sad because no one wanted to buy it and they had reduced the price by 50%. What else could I do but take the poor thing home with me? Now due to the fact that my husband and I are trying to watch what we eat, we certainly couldn’t just shovel all of the slices into our faces before the cake went bad. So after I gave it a taste test…what?…I didn’t have any lunch…I discovered that it was not just delicious, but still very moist and fresh.

So here’s what I did to preserve the freshness and my waistline. I took the slices and put them into individual plastic containers. I then sprinkled frozen blueberries on top of the slices (because what is pound cake without berries and a splash of milk?) and put the containers into the freezer. Now, we can wait until we have our Fat Friday meals to indulge and the pound cake has been rescued from what I’m sure would be a slow, stinky death. I must say I consider myself a hero. 🙂

And as a side note…here is my photo of the day. Subject for today was “Clouds”. This is pretty much what our skies have looked like for the past week or two! The rain can move on now. Thank you.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Grocery Savings, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today…I Saved a Pound Cake From Certain Death

  1. It was good of you to open your home to such a deserving pastry!

  2. Very clever of you to space out the portions like that. I probably would have gourged as much as I could, then felt very bad about myself and later the fact that my stomach was hurting. I would have felt so bad that I had made a pig of myself that I just threw away the rest of it or put it out in the yard for the birds to eat. You have such restraint !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

