Kicking Yard Sales and Relaxing Farm Time…

This weekend was made up of scouring another community yard sale on Saturday morning with a friend and my mom. My favorite purchases: vintage bowls and a wonderful old tray. Most unique items for sale: a guillotine and an electric chair. They were handmade items that someone made for Halloween, but life size and very realistic. If I had room in the car…

Then off to the farm where hubby and I spent the rest of Saturday and all day today. It was one of those times that nature made the decisions for you. Due to some quite consistent rain we had all last week, the garden was nothing but squishy mud, so I couldn’t get anything done in there. Saturday evening we made some sirloin sliders and pasta salad, took a brisk walk and then parked ourselves in some folding chairs where we watched the ducks, scouted for bears and talked about everything under sun. Today I cleaned the inside of the house and planned my upcoming preserving/canning strategy. It was unhurried, relaxing and just what we both needed.

While at the farm, I did take my photo challenge pics too. For yesterday’s subject “your favorite shoes”, I took a picture of my ratty old Reeboks that I love. They have been dubbed “farm shoes” for a long time now due to the fact that they are not respectable enough to wear in public, but they fit me so well! So I garden in them, walk the trails at the farm and just keep loving them. They’re so ugly that they’re cute.

Today’s subject is “hands”. Well…here’s one of them, while looking up what today’s subject was. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kicking Yard Sales and Relaxing Farm Time…

  1. pinkflamingoflop says:

    Love the shoes!!

  2. pinkflamingoflop says:

    Love the shoes!!!

  3. Debra Torlay says:

    I love the shoes too but I like what you did over the weekend better. It sounds ideal!

  4. I have shoes like that – not the same as yours–but comfortable despite the holes

  5. Shira says:

    Looks like a blast! I love good yard sales on weekends…nothing like a good find!

Leave a Reply

