Bored? Take The Magical Mystery Tour

Heads up…I’m combining two posts in one. If I end up rambling, I apologize in advance.

First things first. My daughter Kelsey is home for a few days. See, when she went off to college two years ago, I consoled myself by saying at least I’d still have three months out of the year for her to be home. Wrong. She went and got herself a job, a promotion and all of the big girl stuff that goes with those things. So now, she only gets to come home in short spurts that last a few days. But I’ll take what I can get!

She came home last night and will be staying until tomorrow afternoon. So this morning, I jumped on her bed, asking if she wanted to hang out for the day. How could she resist? So we ran a few errands and then took The Magical Mystery Tour.

Let me take you back about three or four years. My husband and I were hosting a get together with friends that included lots of food and wine. Well, after a few drinks, some of my friends came up with the idea of having a Magical Mystery Tour, where we would climb into a limo (or in our case, probably a mini van), choose a designated driver and off we would go for the day. Our destination…to be determined by the roll of the dice. We talked about this for weeks afterwards, but the Magical Mystery Tour, like most wine-induced ideas, faded away. But it always stayed in the back of my mind because it seemed like such fun! So I made it family friendly. (Minus the limo and no need for a designated driver)

Here’s what I came up with:

As you can see, there’s really nothing to it. At each stop sign or red light, one simple roll will determine which direction you go. You set a time limit and then after your half hour or so is up, you head back home. I printed out the little card, covered it with packing tape and into a repurposed pouch it went, along with a random die from some board game long forgotten. The pouch’s new home is in my car, where it will accessible for impromptu tours.

Kelsey and I ended up wandering around for about an hour and a half. We laughed when we got stuck at the same intersection for the fourth time:

We got excited when we ended up on roads we had never been on, were amused by people watching us pass by for the second or third time, pointed out homes we had never noticed  and were relieved when the die finally took us out of town!

 

 

 

 

The absolute best part was having alone time with my daughter, who is suddenly becoming very grown up. Made my heart melt when we were home for awhile and out of the blue my independent girl said “I had a good time riding around with you today”. Now that’s a Magical Mystery Tour!

Part two of the post: I’ve decided to give the June photo challenge at A Feathered Nest a try.

I’ve previously participated in one of Fat Mum Slims and another from The Purple Carrot. Thought I’d mix it up. I’m going to use the photo of Kelsey and I taken today in the car as my self portrait for day one.

 

 

Find this and more fun things at:

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bored? Take The Magical Mystery Tour

  1. oldentimes says:

    Love the idea of the Magical Mystery Tour! One of my friends and I have a ‘day out’ planned soon, we might have to try that and see where it takes us on our trip to the local Amish area.

  2. love the magical mystery tour-afraid if I did it I would never find my way home again – but sounds fun nevertheless

  3. That sounds like a lot of fun!

  4. My roommate from college & I used to get lost to blow off steam… and sometimes classes. We always found the neatest places that way.

  5. Great idea! Sounds like a lot of fun! I’m so happy for you that you were able to spend time with your daughter! I’m so not ready for my kiddos to move out on their own.

    • The best thing about when they move out is you appreciate the time so much when they come home. She has truly grown into a wonderful young woman and I am very proud.

Leave a Reply

