Crazy Farm Week!

This past week has been super crazy and exciting at the farm. Over Memorial Day weekend, we were able to be there Sunday and Monday. We ended up going over yesterday and stayed overnight as well. Good thing we did!

First, there are now an additional 150 plants in the garden…5 full tomato trellises and 7 beds of pepper plants. Hot and sweet. We grow a ton of hot peppers because my husband is pretty much addicted to them. I can and dehydrate them so we have some all year long. I also share the bounty with my brother, who loves them as well. Needless to say…oh, my aching back!

We got the grill officially going for the first time last night and cranked out some killer barbeque chicken, potato packets and corn on the cob (with chive butter of course!). Well, as hubby was manning the grill, he spotted something on the other side of the pond. All I heard was “HONEY!!!!!!!!!”. I came running from upstairs as he’s saying “grab your camera…there’s a bear”!

I have to admit, my first thought was are you insane? Shouldn’t I be grabbing the gun? But, in an instant the camera was in my hand and out the door I went. And there he was. Sitting on the other side of our pond like he owned the place. The house is easily 100 feet from the pond, so I wasn’t afraid. Until my husband started walking towards the pond telling me to “come on”. (Quick glance…oh, ok…he’s got the gun). So I’m reluctantly walking down the hill while trying to take pictures of this huge black bear. It wasn’t working too well. I ran towards my husband as he neared the pond and tried again.

This bear was quite large. I was just glad the pond is quite large as I attempted to calculate the time it would take the bear to get around the pond compared to the rate of speed I could generate out of my tired legs…uphill. Then I hear my husband yelling to the bear. Huh? Yes, he’s yellling…”What are you doing bear? You’re not going to eat our deer are you bear? When did you get here bear?

That bear looked at my husband with the most amused look. Kind of like he was saying “Oh, you poor little man. I could crush you if I wanted to”. Mr. Bear’s amusement quickly turned to annoyance and he let out a combination grunt/growl as he bolted up into the woods, huffing all the way.

Crazy excitement, huh? Well, imagine how surprised we were when we looked at the game camera that is set up by the pond and realized that the bear had been there for about five hours. Scratching his back, eating some corn and surveying the surroundings. All while I was working in the garden and Sadie (our dog) took several swims in the pond! Luckily, the bear must have been amused by her too and decided not to eat her or our newly adopted duck Luke.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll tell you, there’s always something going on at the farm! Other than the back breaking planting and the heart pounding bear sighting…the Foxgloves and Sweet Williams are in full bloom and I was able to get some pretty good pictures of Sadie and Luke. I wonder what next week will bring??

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crazy Farm Week!

  1. I love crazy excitement–even if it takes the form of a bear. Love your other pics too.

  2. This post is beautiful! Some amazing shots and I am all at once jealous of: your garden, your farm, your dog, your duck, your foxgloves, and your bear. I hope you’re going to give him a name, haha!

    • The rule is: If you stay at the farm more than a week, you get a name. We’ll see next week if Bobby…I mean the bear gets one. 🙂 We love our farm and can’t wait until our retirement there is a reality. Fingers crossed, it’s in the five year plan!

      • Wow! Only five years? That’s amazing. I am in awe of people who own a farm. There is so much space and work, but the reward must be amazing.

      • We don’t actually “farm” the farm, if that makes sense, due to the fact that we don’t live there. Yet. I inherited the farm from my father and I am the fourth generation to own it. It originated as a farm and has evolved from a farm to a hunting camp, to a residence and everything in between. We have a huge garden that we maintain on our weekends and random weekdays. It is rewarding growing a ton of our own food for sure, but I tip my hat at people that do this full time for sure!

Leave a Reply

