Grilling Season = Flavored Butters

I don’t know about you, but this time of year makes me think about intense flavors, especially coming from the grill. All of those steaks, veggies, burgers…oh my! Well, what better way to enhance those foods and use up some of your (or your local farmer’s) garden overload than to make flavored butters to step-up the yumminess? Flavored butters are so very simple!

Here’s the recipe:

Flavored Butter

  • Butter
  • Anything else you want to put into the butter
  • Mix ingredients together

Simple, right? The only advice I must give you before you start mixing up your own is to make sure your butter is at room temperature. Oh…and use real butter. Only because margarine is fake food that is highly processed and not good for our bodies. So use the real stuff…moderately. 🙂

Think of the foods you love and what might go well with them. Here are some ideas to get you started:

  • Red Pepper Butter ~ Dried red pepper flakes and lime zest. Adds a “South of The Border” flavor to corn on the cob and burgers.
  • Garlic Parmesan Butter ~ Fresh minced garlic and shredded Parmesan. Goes great on pasta, rice or grilled veggies.
  • Chive Flower Butter ~ Use the petals of chive flowers and add whatever green herb that strikes your fancy (pictured below with parsley). Fabulous on grilled corn on the cob or baked potatoes. Add fresh cilantro instead of parsley, melt a pat on your baked potato and dollop with salsa and sour cream…ole’ !!
  • Blue Cheese Butter ~ Decadent on a hot-off-the-grill steak.
  • Spring Onion Butter ~ Adds a delicate flavor to veggies no matter how they’re cooked.
  • Cinnamon Sugar Butter ~ On hot biscuits…are you kidding me? YUM!

I’m sure you get the idea. After you mix up your butters, they can stay fresh in the fridge for about a week (if using fresh herbs)…longer if you’re using dried. If you are going to freeze the butter for future use, roll it into a small log, snuggly wrap it with parchment paper (twisting both ends to secure the paper tightly around the log). Place the log in a freezer bag and place it in the freezer. Thaw in the refrigerator before use.

Imagine hosting a picnic and serving hot corn on the cob with a few flavored butters. Your guests will think you are immensely amazing (which you are…this will just confirm it). So go…whip up some flavored butters, continue to be amazing and invite me to that picnic!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grilling Season = Flavored Butters

  1. thanks – these sound wonderful, and will dress up even the most modest of meals

  2. sybaritica says:

    Some nice ideas there… I really like the chive flowers. Just wish we could get them here 😦

  3. marie says:

    This is a god idea. As someone who really does not like to cook at all it seems like a very simple way to add a bit of flavor.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

