Everyone Should Grow Something ~ At Least Once

I’m serious. Everyone should grow something edible at least one time. There is truly nothing as tasty, rewarding or radically awesome as caring for a plant from seed to table. I love walking into the garden and harvesting something for us to enjoy. These radishes will be on our lunch table and in our bellies tomorrow! (We would have enjoyed them this evening if our farm trip wasn’t cut short by pounding rain…I forgot them in the fridge at the farm!)

Even if you live in an apartment, you should grow some herbs or edible flowers. If you have a small patio, grow some potatoes in a garbage pail. Whatever you do for goodness sakes…grow something. Anything. I’ll bet you do it again!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Everyone Should Grow Something ~ At Least Once

  1. Seasonsgirl says:

    Agreed… once you start you can’t stop it’s addicting 🙂

  2. msmckibbon says:

    I’m growing an avocado seed in a glass in my kitchen windowsill – i hope that counts!

  3. so agree with you – it is satisfying–and in the case of a salad garden–delicious and healthy and less expensive than buying it

  4. I love growing things!! When you put that seed in the dirt and get a plant that produces things you can eat, it still amazes me. Gardening is hard in Florida but Yehovah keeps blessing me.

  5. Little Sis says:

    Nothing better than walking in from the garden and cooking your finds. Delish! Massive harvest yesterday led to impromptu snow pea stir fry for lunch and an amazong fresh strawberry pie after dinner. Glorious.

  6. Stacey says:

    So what is the easiest thing to grow — I have a very small yard

    • Herbs are always a good choice and they can be brought indoors. You only need one square foot or so of soil for potatoes, and they are very easy. Zucchini is very easy I’ve found, but you need about 3 square feet because it is a wide plant. If you have a fence, you can grow things vertically…cucumbers, beans or even cantalope, all of which need very little care once they get going. Here us a great link to a guy that grows an entire garden on his fire escape. 🙂 Hope this helps! http://www.urbanorganicgardener.com/

Leave a Reply

