Green Goddess Dressing

Remember a little while back I showed you how to create some fabulous Chive Flower Vinegar? (You can find it here if you missed it) Well, I’ve been asked to share recipes that you can make with your vinegar, and I am more than glad to do so. After the vinegar has set for two weeks, it should have a wonderful rosy color to it like the picture below. You then strain out the flowers and you have a beautiful, tasty vinegar to use in all sorts of dishes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s recipe uses both your vinegar and some of those luscious chives from the garden. Here’s what you’ll need:

Green Goddess Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise (light is ok)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (light is ok)
  • 1/3 cup chives, chopped
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp chive flower vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp dried tarragon (or 1 tsp fresh) Note: I’ve used parsley in the past and it worked just fine.
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce

Blend all of your ingredients together in food processor until creamy. Makes about 1 cup.

Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or so to give the ingredients time to fall in love. Use as a zingy salad dressing, a great veggie dip or as a spread on sandwiches and burgers. I’m pretty sure you’re gonna love it!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Green Goddess Dressing

  1. Sounds lovely. I am going to make some chive vinegar too, if a certain husband stops chopping off the tops of my chives.

  2. kris says:

    Thank you for sharing can’t wait till my vinegar is done!!!!! kris

  3. putneyfarm says:

    Nice recipe and great photos!

Leave a Reply

